Go to the main content Right arrow icon
Welcome back! Read in our FAQ how we welcome you warmly and safely!
menu
menu

Vibrating Soundscape (2018)

Jürgen De Blonde, Ward Delbeke and Atelier Motief

Vibrating Soundscape is an immersive listening installation, in which sound is not only audible but can also be felt. Thanks to its various free-moving surfaces – which vibrate according to the frequency and pitch of the sound source -  this chaise gives users an exceptional sensory experience. 

The chaise’s highly original form was developed using 3D technology. Its makers upholstered it with horsehair because this only minimally dampens the vibrations; it is also a fitting reference to the musical use of horsehair in bows. 

Vibrating Soundscape was commissio-ned as part of the special programming during our Masterpiece Week around Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. That work was composed when the master was already deaf and this inspired us to orga-nise a variety of projects with and for the deaf and hard of hearing.

Vibrating Soundscape was commissioned by Concertgebouw Brugge. It is a collaboration between sound artist Jürgen De Blonde (All Things Sound), furniture designer Ward Delbeke (draW) and the upholsterers of Atelier Motief.

Aller au contenu principal

Vibrating Soundscape (2018)

Jürgen De Blonde, Ward Delbeke and Atelier Motief

Vibrating Soundscape est une installation sonore permettant non seulement d'entendre le son, mais également de le ressentir. Ce meuble est constitué de différentes surfaces qui vibrent en fonction de la fréquence et de la hauteur du son, offrant ainsi à  l'utilisateur une expérience sensorielle particulière. 

La forme plutôt originale de ce « fauteuil sensoriel » a pu être conçue grâce à la technologie 3D. Pour le garnissage du fauteuil, les réalisateurs ont opté pour le crin de cheval car il permet de limiter au minimum l’atténuation des vibrations. Il offre également un subtil clin d’œil à l’utilisation musicale du crin de cheval sur les archets.

L’œuvre a été commandée à l’occasion de la Semaine Icônes consacrée à la Neuvième symphonie de Beethoven au Concertgebouw. Beethoven avait déjà perdu pratiquement toutes ses facultés auditives lorsqu’il composa cette œuvre, fait qui a immédiatement inspiré un cer-tain nombre de projets pour et avec des personnes sourdes et malentendantes.

Cette installation est une collaboration entre l'artiste sonore Jürgen De Blonde (All Things Sound), le créateur de meubles Ward Delbeke (draW) et les tapissiers-garnisseurs de l'Atelier Motief pour le Concertgebouw de Bruges.