Go to the main content

Têtes-à-têtes

Têtes-à-têtes

Intense musical experiences in the Chamber Music Hall

For a whole month, we are banning overwhelming orchestras and magisterial Baroque to make room for the more intimate. Goethe once defined the string quartet as ‘four rational gentlemen conversing with each other’. Fortunately, they no longer have to be men, but the spirit of his law still applies: for chamber music, you gather together. Personal contact with musicians and fellow audience members gives the listening experience an extra dimension. Four thematic lines bring order to 17 multi-coloured concerts: Beethoven XS, International Quartets, Musical Gifts and Roots.

Beethoven XS

Beethoven XS

Beethoven XS
In Beethoven Year 2020, which is resounding everywhere, our contribution at the Concertgebouw is small but splendid. Previous seasons have shown that intimate arrangements of, among other things, Mahler's First Symphony are a great success. Although originally intended simply as a way to bring music to more people in an age before recordings and widespread concert halls, such a pared down configuration also shows us music in a different light. In a chamber music context, the musicians bring out the essence of Beethoven's orchestral monuments in an intense dialogue, and give us insight into the pure mastery of this giant.
International quartets

International quartets

International quartets
In this series of international quartets – featuring famous string ensembles, such as Diotima and Brodsky, and ensembles built around renowned violinists, such as Liza Ferschtman and Baiba Skride – strings are central. Folk influences are never far away. In his work, Hosokawa integrated Japanese folk instruments such as the shō, a traditional mouth organ. Bartók, Brahms and Enescu drew their inspiration from Hungarian and Romanian gypsy music. British composers Elgar and Britten also combined old and new elements to create their own musical language.
Musical gifts

Musical gifts

Musical gifts
Roeland Hendrickx asks Piet Swerts for a new work, composed especially for his ensemble. Daan Janssens writes a cello piece, tailored to the expressive talents of Arne Deforce. Richard Mühlfeld persuades Johannes Brahms to compose for the clarinet. And Eugénie Alecian dedicates her string quartet to the ensemble in which her niece plays first violin. Four times that a powerful bond between composer and performer(s) has resulted in tailor-made work. These musical gifts are unwrapped with love.
Roots

Roots

Roots
How do you relate to your past? And are folk music and art music completely different worlds? Four different projects take us beyond the parochial. Mixing traditional with contemporary music is common to all eras. Teta Diana mixes Afro-pop with early influences, New Early Music ensemble Brú use period instruments to breathe new life into dances from days gone by and Nihan Devecioglu shows us how seamlessly Baroque music can blend into Mediterranean folk music. Wings & Roots blends a diversity of music in response to the – for many – complex search for their roots.

Aller au contenu principal Flèche droite
Lisez dans notre FAQ comment nous vous accueillons chaleureusement et en toute sécurité !
menu
menu

Têtes-à-têtes

Têtes-à-têtes

Expériences musicales intenses dans la Salle de musique de chambre

Durant tout un mois, nous laissons de côté les orchestres imposants et autres productions baroques magistrales pour faire place à une musique plus intime. Goethe décrivait le quatuor à cordes comme une « conversation entre quatre personnes raisonnables ». Fort heureusement, il y a bien longtemps qu’il ne doit plus s’agir de quatre personnes raisonnables, mais l’esprit de sa définition reste d’actualité : en musique de chambre, tous les intervenants sont partie prenante. Le contact personnel entre les musiciens et les auditeurs confère à l’expérience une dimension supplémentaire. 17 concerts hauts en couleurs s’articulent autour de quatre lignes thématiques : Beethoven XS, Quatuors internationaux, Présents musicaux et Roots.

Beethoven XS

Beethoven XS

Beethoven XS
Lors de la grandiose année Beethoven 2020, la contribution du Concertgebouw sera modeste mais raffinée. Au cours des saisons précédentes, les arrangements intimistes d’œuvres comme la Symphonie n° 1 de Mahler avaient déjà fait mouche. Bien que ces pièces aient été initialement conçues pour rendre la musique accessible au grand public à une époque où l’enregistrement n’existait pas et les salles de concert étaient moins nombreuses, une réduction avantageuse donne aux monuments orchestraux de Beethoven un nouvel éclairage. Dans un dialogue intense, les musiciens d’un orchestre de chambre font ressortir l’essence de la musique et permettent de mesurer l’immense maîtrise de ce géant musical.
Quatuors internationaux

Quatuors internationaux

Quatuors internationaux
Les instruments à cordes sont au centre de cette série de quatuors internationaux, avec des quatuors réputés comme Diotima et Brodsky, et des ensembles emmenés par de célèbres violonistes telles que Liza Ferschtman et Baiba Skride. Les influences de la musique populaire ne sont jamais très loin. Hosokawa a intégré dans son œuvre des instruments folkloriques japonais comme le shō, un orgue à bouche traditionnel. Bartók, Brahms ou Enescu s’inspiraient quant à eux de musiques tziganes roumaines et hongroises. Les compositeurs britanniques Elgar ou Britten ont également mélangé des éléments anciens et nouveaux pour créer leur propre langage musical.
Présents musicaux

Présents musicaux

Présents musicaux
Roeland Hendrickx commande à Piet Swerts l’écriture d’une nouvelle pièce spécialement pour son ensemble. Daan Janssens compose une pièce pour violoncelle en tenant compte de l’expressivité du jeu d’Arne Deforce. Richard Mühlfeld a persuadé Johannes Brahms de composer une pièce pour clarinette et Eugénie Alecian dédie son quatuor à cordes à l’ensemble dont sa nièce est le premier violon. Quatre illustrations d’un lien fort entre le créateur et l’interprète donnant naissance à une œuvre sur mesure. Les présents musicaux sont ouverts avec amour.
Roots

Roots

Roots
Que faisons-nous de notre passé ? La musique populaire et la musique savante sont-elles des univers totalement distincts ? Quatre projets très différents vont au-delà des stéréotypes. Le mélange des musiques traditionnelle et contemporaine a de tous temps existé. Teta Diana mixe l’afro-pop avec des influences anciennes, l’ensemble Brú utilise les instruments historiques pour donner un nouveau souffle à des danses ancestrales et Nihan Devecioglu nous prouve que la musique baroque se marie parfaitement à la musique populaire méditerranéenne. En réponse à la quête souvent complexe des origines, Wings & Roots fusionne des musiques les plus diverses.