menu
menu

Exhibition Stef Van Alsenoy (28.11.18 - 17.02.19)

Mono no aware

visual arts
Wed 28 Nov 2018 14.00
start 14.00
Free

The Japanese expression Mono no aware describes an intense awareness of the transience and impermanence of life. This world view allows for cherishing both the beauty and fragility of the temporary, as well as the melancholy of the ephemeral. Hanami – the admiration and appreciation of the sakura (the cherry blossom) and its transience - is an example of this. Mono no aware also reflects the circle of life.

Stef Van Alsenoy recognises all these elements in the dynamics and beauty of clouds: in how they are formed, how they evolve and how they eventually dissipate into nothing. His minimalist photography only has room for the essence, the power and the finiteness of clouds.

As a sound designer, Stef Van Alsenoy has created soundscapes for, among others, photographer Stephan Vanfleteren and theatre maker Kris Verdonck. He has recorded thousands of concerts at Brussels’ Ancienne Belgique concert hall, for broadcast on radio and TV. And he has mixed music for acts such as Faithless, Iggy Pop, Roisin Murphy, Daan and Axelle Red.

In his exhibition Mono no aware Stef Van Alsenoy combines his photography with his sonic perspective as a sound designer. In his work both art forms are perfectly complementary; they inspire, interact with, and enhance each other. The soundscapes he has created for this series give the photos a minimalistic acoustic dimension.  

Wed 28 Nov 2018 14.00
start 14.00
Free

tipped for you

Share this event

Subscribe to our newsletter

menu
menu

Exposition Stef Van Alsenoy (28.11.18 - 17.02.19)

Mono no aware

arts visuels
mer. 28 nov 2018 14.00
début 14.00
Gratuit

L’expression japonaise mono no aware désigne une conscience intense du caractère provisoire et fugace de la vie. Cette conception du monde amène à chérir autant la beauté et la fragilité du provisoire que la mélancolie de l’éphémère. Le hanami – la coutume consistant à observer et admirer les sakura (fleurs de cerisier) et leur caractère éphémère – en est un exemple. Mono no aware est aussi une métaphore du cycle de la vie.

Stef Van Alsenoy retrouve tous ces éléments dans la dynamique et la beauté des nuages, dans leur façon de se former, de dériver et finalement de se dissiper pour retourner au néant. Sa photographie minimaliste ne laisse place qu’à l’essence, la force et la finitude des nuages.

En sa qualité de sound designer, Stef Van Alsenoy a réalisé divers paysages sonores, notamment du photographe Stephan Vanfleteren et du dramaturge Kris Verdonck. Il a enregistré pour l’Ancienne Belgique des milliers de concerts ensuite diffusés à la radio et à la télévision. Il a mixé entre autres pour Faithless, Iggy Pop, Roisin Murphy, Daan et Axelle Red.

Dans son exposition Mono no aware, il mêle photographie et conception sonore, deux formes artistiques qu’il juge parfaitement complémentaires, se nourrissant l’une l’autre et interagissant l’une avec l’autre. Les paysages sonores qu’il a créés pour cette série donnent aux photos une dimension acoustique minimaliste.  

mer. 28 nov 2018 14.00
début 14.00
Gratuit

nos recommandations

Partager cet événément

Inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d’informations

  •  *