Go to the main content Right arrow icon
The Concertgebouw sees your health as the highest priority. Follow the latest developments on our website. read more
menu
menu

Early Opera Company

Purcell. Dido and Aeneas

this event is part of

TOPSTUK PURCELL

orchestral
Birdsong
Sat 13 Mar 2021 -20.00
Concert hall
introduction by Ignace Bossuyt 19.15
start 20.00

B - Standaard €25.00 - €49.00

Reduction -26 €13.00 - €25.00

Ticket sales for performances in November and onward will begin at a later date. We will inform you of the start of sales via our newsletter (register at the bottom of this page), this website and our social media pages.

Heart to heart in an epic of ill-fated love

Heroic prince meets proud queen, the Gods interfere, tragedy ensues. That is the basic premise of Virgil’s version of Aeneas and Dido. In Nahum Tate's libretto, which Purcell set to music in the 1680s, things are somewhat different. In their Dido and Aeneas, a sinister Sorceress lends fate a helping hand. Spirits easily deceive Trojan prince Aeneas into abandoning Carthaginian queen Dido and going to Italy, where his descendants are destined to found Rome. And Queen Dido herself seems afraid of embracing happiness. All of this tragedy and tension inspired Purcell to compose superlative music, which became an emblem of British culture shortly after his death. The lament When I am Laid in Earth has even become a modern cult classic.

The Early Opera Company and an array of top soloists combine Purcell's masterpiece with Charpentier's one-act opera Actéon. This tragic pastoral tells the same story as that recounted in the Dido and Aeneas aria ‘Oft she visits this lone mountain’. It is based on an episode from Ovid's Metamorphoses.

programme

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Dido and Aeneas, Z626

Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643-1704)
Actéon, H481

performers

Early Opera Company: orchestra
Christian Curnyn: artistic director
Kristina Stanek: mezzo-soprano, Dido
Edward Grint: bass-baritone, Aeneas / Chasseur
Hilary Summers: alto, Sorceress / Junon
Anna Dennis: soprano, Belinda / Diane, Daphné
Sam Boden: tenor, Spirit, Sailor / Actéon
Miriam Allan: soprano, 2nd Woman, 2nd Witch / Arthebuze, Hyale

read less

Early Opera Company: orchestra
Christian Curnyn: artistic director
Kristina Stanek: mezzo-soprano, Dido
Edward...

read more
Sat 13 Mar 2021 -20.00
Concert hall
introduction by Ignace Bossuyt 19.15
start 20.00

B - Standaard €25.00 - €49.00

Reduction -26 €13.00 - €25.00

Ticket sales for performances in November and onward will begin at a later date. We will inform you of the start of sales via our newsletter (register at the bottom of this page), this website and our social media pages.

partners

tipped for you

Share this event

Subscribe to our newsletter

  •  *

Aller au contenu principal Flèche droite
Nous prenons le Coronavirus très au sérieux et prenons des précautions très strictes. Vous pouvez suivre les nouveaux développements sur notre site web. plus d'infos
menu
menu

Early Opera Company

Purcell. Didon et Énée

cet événement fait partie de

TOPSTUK PURCELL

orchestral
Birdsong
sam. 13 mar 2021 -20.00
Salle de concert
Introduction par Ignace Bossuyt 19.15
début 20.00

B - Standaard 25,00 € - 49,00 €

Tarif réduit -26 13,00 € - 25,00 €

Nous devons encore différer quelque peu la vente des billets pour les spectacles programmés à partir de novembre. Nous vous tiendrons informés du début de la vente via un bulletin d’information (auquel vous pouvez vous inscrire au bas de cette page), ce site web et nos réseaux sociaux.

Cœur à cœur dans l’épopée d’un amour impossible

La rencontre d’un prince héroïque et d’une noble reine : voilà comment Virgile concevait l’histoire de Didon et Énée. Il n’en va pas de même dans le livret de Nahum Tate, qu’Henry Purcell adapta en musique dans les années 1680 : dans Didon et Énée, des fantômes convainquent très facilement le Troyen d’abandonner Didon pour fonder Rome, tandis que la reine carthaginoise semble quant à elle appréhender le bonheur. Au second plan, la sinistre Enchanteresse donne un adroit coup de pouce au « destin ». Toute cette dimension tragique et cette tension ont inspiré à Purcell une musique fabuleuse qui, peu de temps après le décès du compositeur déjà, devenait un emblème de la culture britannique. Le lamento When I am Laid in Earth est même devenu un grand classique moderne.

Early Opera Company et une foule de solistes de haut vol associent ce chef-d'œuvre de Purcell à l’opéra en un acte Actéon de Charpentier. Cette tragique pastorale présente la même version de l’histoire que celle de Didon dans son aria « Oft she visits this lone mountain » et est basée sur un épisode des Métamorphoses d’Ovide.

programme

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Didon et Énée, Z626

Marc-Antoine Charpentier (1643-1704)
Actéon, H481

artistes

Early Opera Company : orchestre
Christian Curnyn : directeur artistique
Kristina Stanek : mezzo-soprano, Didon
Edward Grint : baryton-basse, Énée / Chasseur
Hilary Summers : alto, Enchanteresse / Junon
Anna Dennis : soprano, Belinda / Diane, Daphné
Sam Boden : ténor, Esprit, Marin / Actéon
Miriam Allan : soprano, deuxième Femme, seconde Sorcière / Arthebuze, Hyale

Moins d’infos

Early Opera Company : orchestre
Christian Curnyn : directeur artistique
Kristina Stanek : mezzo-soprano, Didon...

Plus d’infos
sam. 13 mar 2021 -20.00
Salle de concert
Introduction par Ignace Bossuyt 19.15
début 20.00

B - Standaard 25,00 € - 49,00 €

Tarif réduit -26 13,00 € - 25,00 €

Nous devons encore différer quelque peu la vente des billets pour les spectacles programmés à partir de novembre. Nous vous tiendrons informés du début de la vente via un bulletin d’information (auquel vous pouvez vous inscrire au bas de cette page), ce site web et nos réseaux sociaux.

partenaires

nos recommandations

Partager cet événément

Inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d’informations

  •  *