Go to the main content Right arrow icon
The Concertgebouw sees your health as the highest priority. Follow the latest developments on our website. read more
menu
menu

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Elgar’s hits

orchestral
Sun 03 Jun 2018 -15.00
Concert hall
introduction by Francis Maes 14.15
start 15.00
expected end time 16.55

Standard €25.00 - €57.00

Reduction -26 €12.50 - €28.50

Reduction 65+ €21.25 - €48.45

Ticket sales for performances in November and onward will begin at a later date. We will inform you of the start of sales via our newsletter (register at the bottom of this page), this website and our social media pages.

Melancholy and virtuosity: Britannia rules

Edward Elgar’s music sounds much like his personality: warm, extrovert, brilliant, deeply introspective and melancholic. His 1919 Cello Concerto resounds with the horror and suffering of World War I. This gives it a certain sombreness, but the cello also gets every opportunity to sing, in dramatic monologues and moments of virtuosity. That virtuosity is also apparent in the mysterious Enigma Variations, which also delight because of their Wagnerian pathos and lyricism.

programme

Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Cello Concerto in E minor, opus 85
Enigma Variations, opus 36

performers

BBC Scottish Orchestra: orchestra
Martyn Brabbins: conductor
Nicolas Altstaedt: cello

Sun 03 Jun 2018 -15.00
Concert hall
introduction by Francis Maes 14.15
start 15.00
expected end time 16.55

Standard €25.00 - €57.00

Reduction -26 €12.50 - €28.50

Reduction 65+ €21.25 - €48.45

Ticket sales for performances in November and onward will begin at a later date. We will inform you of the start of sales via our newsletter (register at the bottom of this page), this website and our social media pages.

tipped for you

Share this event

Aller au contenu principal Flèche droite
Nous prenons le Coronavirus très au sérieux et prenons des précautions très strictes. Vous pouvez suivre les nouveaux développements sur notre site web. plus d'infos
menu
menu

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Les grands tubes d’Elgar

orchestral
dim. 03 jui 2018 -15.00
Salle de concert
Introduction par Francis Maes 14.15
début 15.00
fin prévue 16.55

Standard 25,00 € - 57,00 €

Tarif réduit -26 12,50 € - 28,50 €

Tarif réduit 65+ 21,25 € - 48,45 €

Nous devons encore différer quelque peu la vente des billets pour les spectacles programmés à partir de novembre. Nous vous tiendrons informés du début de la vente via un bulletin d’information (auquel vous pouvez vous inscrire au bas de cette page), ce site web et nos réseaux sociaux.

Mélancolie et virtuosité: Britannia rules

La musique d’Edward Elgar se fait l’écho de sa personnalité: extravertie, chaude et fantasque, mêlant autoréflexion et mélancolie. Son Concerto pour violoncelle de 1919 donne à entendre toute l’atrocité et la souffrance de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il porte en lui une part d’obscurité, mais le violoncelle a tout loisir de chanter des monologues dramatiques et des moments virtuoses. Cette virtuosité se prolonge dans ses mystérieuses Variations Enigma qui, par leur pathos et leur lyrisme wagnériens, sont un plaisir pour l’oreille.

programme

Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
Concerto pour violoncelle en mi mineur, opus 85
Variations Enigma, opus 36

artistes

BBC Scottish Orchestra: orchestre
Martyn Brabbins: direction
Nicolas Altstaedt: violoncelle

dim. 03 jui 2018 -15.00
Salle de concert
Introduction par Francis Maes 14.15
début 15.00
fin prévue 16.55

Standard 25,00 € - 57,00 €

Tarif réduit -26 12,50 € - 28,50 €

Tarif réduit 65+ 21,25 € - 48,45 €

Nous devons encore différer quelque peu la vente des billets pour les spectacles programmés à partir de novembre. Nous vous tiendrons informés du début de la vente via un bulletin d’information (auquel vous pouvez vous inscrire au bas de cette page), ce site web et nos réseaux sociaux.

nos recommandations

Partager cet événément

Inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d’informations

  •  *