A celebration of Belgian jazz

jazz / pop & rock / world music
Sat 08 Oct 2016 18.00
start 18.00

Under 26? Enjoy 50% discount!

Up-and-coming talent and established names from the Belgian jazz scene

In February 2012 the Concertgebouw and De Werf joined forces to organise the first W.E.R.F. label night. That first edition not only celebrated the 100th album release on that Bruges label, but also the Concertgebouw’s own tenth anniversary. The formula was a resounding success; there had to be a sequel! Nowadays, the W.E.R.F. label is still operating at full speed and is heading for its 150th release. What originally started in 1993 as a one-off support for Bruges pianist Kris Defoort, has grown to become Flanders’ preeminent jazz label. A glance at the catalogue and the seemingly endless list of jazz musicians who have recorded for the W.E.R.F. label reads like an encyclopaedia of the Belgian jazz history of the past 25 years. Many of those artists have grown to become established names on the circuit. But budding talents are also always given ample opportunities. For this second label night we‘ve selected both up-and-coming youngsters and familiar faces. The programme includes the Kris Defoort Trio, with special guest Veronika Harcsa, the young duo SCHNTZL, the Nathalie Loriers Trio and a brand-new creation project by the Ragini Trio, featuring Bojan Z & Sawani Mudgal…


18.00 – Concert hall
Kris Defoort's Diving Poet Society + Veronika Harcsa

Kris Defoort: piano
Nicolas Thys: electric bass
Lander Gyselinck: drums
Guillaume Orti: alto saxphone
Veronica Harcsa: vocals
Peter Verhelst: text

19.00 – Chamber music hall

Hendrik Lasure: piano
Casper Van De Velde: drums

19.00 – Studio 1
Bart Defoort Quintet

Bart Defoort: tenor saxophone
Ewout Pierreux: piano
Hans Van Oost: guitar
Christophe Devisscher: bass
Toni Vitacolonna: drums

19.00 – Entrance hall
Estiévenart-Delannoye QT

Jean-Paul Estiévenart: trumpet
Steven Delannoye: tenor saxophone
Reinier Maas: guitar
Mark Schilders: drums

20.00 – Concert hall
Chris Joris 'Home' Project feat. Naima Joris

Chris Joris: percussion
Naima Joris: vocals
Free Desmyter: piano
NN: saxophone, trumpet
Christophe Millet: percussion
Yassin Joris: guitar, vocals
Lara Rosseel: bass

21.00 – Entrance hall

Ben Sluijs: alt saxophone, flute
Erik Vermeulen: piano

21.00 – Concert hall
Ragini Trio

Nathan Daems: saxophone
Marco Bardoscia: bass
Lander Gyselinck: drums

21.00 – Studio 1
Sander De Winne - Bram De Looze Duo

Sander De Winne: vocals
Bram De Looze: piano

22.00 – Concert hall

Laurent Blondiau, Timothée Quost & Jean-Paul Estiévenart: trumpet
Geoffroy De Masure: trombone
Michel Massot, Pascal Rousseau: tuba
Guillaume Orti: alt saxophone
Jeroen Van Herzeele: tenor saxophone
Bo Van der Werf: baritone saxophone
Grégoire Tirtiaux: saxophone
Pierre Bernard, Quentin Manfroy: flute
Yann Lecollaire: clarinet
Fabian Fiorini: piano
Claude Tchamitchian: bass
João Lobo: drums

23.00 – Entrance hall
Compro Oro

Wim Segers: vibraphone, marimba
Bart Vervaeck: guitare
Mattias Geernaert: bass
Frederik Van den Berghe: drums
Robbe Kieckens: percussion

read less

18.00 – Concert hall
Kris Defoort's Diving Poet Society + Veronika Harcsa

Kris Defoort: piano
Nicolas Thys:...

read more
Sat 08 Oct 2016 18.00
start 18.00

Under 26? Enjoy 50% discount!

tipped for you

Share this event

Subscribe to our newsletter