By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Wishlist0

Social media

Season guideSURROUND!
  • Mathieu Nonnenmacher

SURROUND!

When someone describes an experience as ‘intense’, he or she often says they were ‘right in the middle of it’, ‘completely engrossed’. When we go to a concert, don’t we all want to be swept away by such an intensely-immersive, even physical experience? At the SURROUND Festival that dream becomes reality. The listener is surrounded by sound and becomes part of the musical interaction.

When you experience an orchestral work by architect-composer Iannis Xenakis in the middle of a symphony orchestra, sound becomes tangible. The listener becomes part of the interaction, part of the dialogue between musicians.

In new music, sound becomes matter. Vibrations collide and create spaces, music becomes architecture. Fascinating sound art can stun the listener. Whether it be an installation by Esther Venrooy, radically innovative work by Simon Steen-Andersen, or spatialised electronics in a Vykintas Baltakas world premiere, the listener becomes central and draws in sound from every corner.

SURROUND! is a completely unique experience: on the lips of sound, in the wake of vibration, in short, in music. Once you are there, you’ll never want to leave.

Experience SURROUND! in depth, thanks to these context activities, in collaboration with Overtoon, platform for sound art.

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des services adaptés à vos centres d’intérêts et de rendre votre expérience de navigation encore plus agréable. OK / Plus d’informations

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Liste d'envies0

Social media

  • Mathieu Nonnenmacher

SURROUND!

Quiconque dit d’une expérience qu’elle est intense précise souvent l’avoir vécue « de l’intérieur ». Et n’aspire-t-on pas précisément à une expérience envoûtante, voire physique, quand on va au concert ? Pendant le festival SURROUND!, ce rêve devient réalité. L’auditeur vient au milieu du son, au cœur même de l’évènement.

Le son devient palpable quand on assiste à une pièce orchestrale de l’architecte et compositeur Iannis Xenakis, au milieu d’un orchestre symphonique. L’auditeur prend part à l’interaction et à la communication entre musiciens.

Dans la musique nouvelle, le son devient matière. Les vibrations éclatent et créent un espace, la musique devient architecture. L’art sonore fascinant – qu’il s’agisse d’installations d’Esther Venrooy, de l’œuvre radicalement innovante de Simon Steen-Andersen ou de l’électronique spatialisée dans une création mondiale de Vykintas Baltakas –, peut frapper de stupeur le spectateur. L’auditeur devient la force centrifuge qui attire à lui le son des moindres recoins.

SURROUND! vous propose des expériences absolument uniques, à la lisière de la production du son, dans le sillage de la vibration, bref au cœur même de la musique. Une fois que vous y aurez goûté, vous ne voudrez plus repartir.

Plongez véritablement dans SURROUND! grâce à ces activités contextuelles, en collaboration avec Overtoon, plateforme d’art sonore.