By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Wishlist0

Social media

Agenda

From Mon 26.06.17 Middle Ages to Bach
  • Lecture about Monteverdi’s Marian vespers

    Monteverdi's most famous work, the Vespro della Beata Vergine, is undoubtedly a musical and historical monument. But despite their fame, these Marian vespers are shrouded in uncertainties. Faced with such an incredible source work, how should a performer, proceed? In this lecture, musicologist and musician Marc Vanscheeuwijck - who Philippe Herreweghe provided with musicological Monteverdi advice - undermines the image of a sacrosanct work of art.… Read more

  • Monteverdi’s greatest hits

    Monteverdi, interpreted by two of today’s most versatile and expressive tenors and characterful Norwegian mezzo Marianne Beate Kielland: a veritable celebration! 40 years after his legendary Orfeo - a brilliant synthesis of old and new - Jos van Immerseel selects favourites from music pioneer Claudio Monteverdi’s most dramatic works. For some a revelation, for others a welcome rediscovery.… Read more

  • Documentary

    On 24 February, 1607, in the Ducal Palace in Mantua, the premiere took place of what was probably the very first opera: Monteverdi's L'Orfeo. This documentary - produced for cultural TV channel Arte - follows the composer of this innovation’s long journey, via documents, locations and especially music. In dialogue with present-day performers, it paints a portrait that reads like a novel. In his 76 years of life, Monteverdi got to know, among others, Veronesi and Galileo, and got to read Cervantes’ first editions.… Read more

  • Monteverdi’s Marian Vespers

    Mantua was too small for Monteverdi: the Gonzagas’ scintillating but demanding court began to feel restrictive. He therefore set his sights on a regular and prestigious church appointment as maestro di cappella. But before that could become a reality Monteverdi, who had spent years composing operas and madrigals, needed a portfolio religious music. His answer was his 1610 publication of a Mass and a collection of Vesper psalms, nowadays known as the Vespro della Beata Vergine. In this masterpiece, Monteverdi builds a bridge between the old polyphonic church music - a legacy from the Low Countries - and the burgeoning Baroque. He does so by transforming Gregorian psalm melodies into a new style that sparkles and shines with virtuosity, with vocal and instrumental parts interacting and vying to outdo each other. And even though this gem is undoubtedly Monteverdi's most famous composition, it still has plenty of secrets left to discover. Philippe Herreweghe and Peter Van Heyghen bring us their interpretation of this masterpiece. A unique concert, only being performed in Belgium once. Don’t miss it!… Read more

  • A feast of classical music

    Anyone who has attended in recent years will confirm it: this is a veritable feast of classical music. Classical music comes in all shapes and sizes, for every emotion and every occasion: Iedereen Klassiek bathes everyone and everything in a joyful classical-music bath. Together with initiator Klara and many Bruges-based partners, the Concertgebouw is putting together a lavish celebration, with offshoots all over the inner city. As always, we warm up with Crazy about Bach and close with the wonderful Brussels Philharmonic, this time performing some well-known classics. Invite your family and friends to this free event, so that they too can discover the power and beauty of Bach, Beethoven and Bruges.… Read more

  • Telemann. Recorder Sonatas

    In his heyday, Telemann was more famous than Bach. But nowadays? Although he wrote more than 6,000 extremely varied works, Telemann's music is seldom heard. High time then that we turned the spotlight on this Baroque giant, especially in this his anniversary year- he died 250 years ago. In this concert, recorder superstar Erik Bosgraaf and Italian harpsichordist Francesco Corti perform Telemann's Recorder Sonatas: the cheery, ingenious, heart-warming music Telemann used to explore the popular European music styles of his day.… Read more

  • Koen Plaetinck & Miyoune Kim

    Would Bach turn in his grave at the thought of his music being played on a modern instrument like the marimba? We don’t know. Probably not. Bach also liked to experiment with unusual instruments. Koen Plaetinck plays Bach’s work on the marimba. And because four mallets aren’t enough for the Goldberg Variations, he is aided in this by Miyoune Kim. With thirty variations, the aria has something for everyone: dazzling virtuosity alternating with ingenious counterpoint, hushed moments set off by technical tours de force.… Read more

  • Et exultavit spiritum meum

    Gripping images, alternating moods and perhaps the best-beloved central figure of all time: the Magnificat has it all. The Sixteen select the finest examples of five centuries of choral music, from the magnificent polyphony of Lassus and Victoria to some thoroughly English Magnificats from the 20th century. That the choral tradition across the Channel is still very much alive is proven by a brand new work by young Englishman Thomas Hyde.… Read more

  • Workshop: Baroque Christmas chorales

    Nowadays we know Bach's Magnificat as a powerful, compact piece of festive music. But in its initial performance it sounded completely different. At tactical moments, Bach added four laudes, additional movements referring specifically to Christmas. During this workshop in the beautiful Begijnhofkerk, Collegium Dunis and their conductor Ignace Thevelein invite the audience to sing along with this repertoire. On the 30th of November, there will be a rehearsal at the Concertgebouw at 20.00.… Read more

  • Bach. Magnificat

    Bach’s first Christmas in Leipzig was a weighty responsibility: the new Thomas Cantor had to produce his most impressive music to date. No easy task, because for seven months he had been composing and performing a new cantata every week, sometimes even two. And now at Christmas he had to prove himself in a city that had been left musically hungry by the recent closure of the opera house. Bach acquitted himself magnificently. His Magnificat generates great drama on a compact scale, especially in his later version with festive trumpets. It is now the turn of our new resident artists Vox Luminis to make an impression. They complete the Christmas atmosphere with a Magnificat setting by Kuhnau - a work Bach himself undoubtedly also conducted - and from southern Germany a cantata by Pachelbel, who is nowadays best known for his Canon, but was a highly regarded organist in his day. Performing this evening, without a conductor, Vox Luminis take us deep into the music.… Read more

  • Christmas Concert. Carmina Latina

    When they went to the Americas, the Spaniards and Portuguese brought their own musical traditions with them: polyphony included. Libraries from Peru and Argentina to Mexico filled up with music from both the New and Old Worlds, inspired by the sounds enthusiastic composers heard on the street. This Christmas Leonardo García Alarcón - who can put on a party like no other - selects music that makes the heart beat faster.… Read more

  • Béatrice Massin & Compagnie Fêtes galantes

    With her passion for Baroque dance, French choreographer Béatrice Massin is sometimes called ‘a musician of space’. Her latest creation Mass B – to excerpts from Bach’s Mass in B minor, partly rearranged by sound artist Emmanuel Nappey – is a carefully balanced interplay of Baroque and contemporary dance. The result is an energetic dialogue between the individual and the group: the Art of the Fugue, but in dance.… Read more

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des services adaptés à vos centres d’intérêts et de rendre votre expérience de navigation encore plus agréable. OK / Plus d’informations

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Liste d'envies0

Social media

Agenda

A partir de mar. 22.08.17 Du moyen-âge à Bach
  • Conférence sur les Vêpres de la Vierge de Monteverdi

    L’œuvre la plus connue de Monteverdi est indéniablement un monument musical et historique, mais Les Vêpres de la Vierge suscitent encore, en dépit de leur renommée, de nombreuses questions. Comment un interprète confronté à une source aussi incroyable peut-il se mettre au travail? Le musicologue – et musicien – Marc Vanscheeuwijck, qui a prodigué des conseils musicologiques sur Monteverdi à Philippe Herreweghe, ébranlera durant sa conférence l’image d’un chef-d’œuvre intouchable.… Lisez plus

  • Les plus grands succès de Monteverdi

    Monteverdi en compagnie de deux des ténors les plus talentueux et les plus expressifs, et de la fougueuse mezzo norvégienne Marianne Beate Kielland : une fête splendide en bonne compagnie! Quarante ans après son légendaire Orfeo, Jos van Immerseel propose une brillante synthèse de l’ancien et de la nouveauté, avec des extraits des œuvres les plus dramatiques du pionnier de la musique Claudio Monteverdi. Redécouverte garantie.… Lisez plus

  • Documentaire

    Le 24 février 1607 fut créé au palais ducal de Mantoue ce qui est probablement le tout premier opéra : L’Orfeo de Monteverdi. Ce documentaire, réalisé pour la chaîne culturelle Arte, suit le compositeur de cette innovation sur son long chemin, à l’aide de documents, de lieux et surtout de musique. En dialogue avec des interprètes modernes émerge un portrait qui se lit comme un roman : Monteverdi a fait en ses 76 ans la connaissance d’entre autres Véronèse, Galilée, et des premières éditions de Cervantès.… Lisez plus

  • Vêpres de la Vierge de Monteverdi

    Mantoue semblait trop petit pour Monteverdi. La cour scintillante et exigeante des Gonzague commença à le courtiser en lui faisant miroiter un poste régulier et prestigieux de maestro di cappella. Mais le compositeur avait alors, après des années d’opéras et de madrigaux, besoin d’un portefeuille de musique religieuse. Ce qui donna lieu à la publication en 1610 d’une messe et d’un ensemble de psaumes pour les vêpres, aujourd’hui connus sous le nom de Vespro della Beata Vergine. Monteverdi parvient ici à jeter un pont entre l’ancienne musique religieuse polyphonique – héritages de nos régions – et le baroque naissant. Il arrange de façon très classique les mélodies grégoriennes des psaumes dans un nouveau style étincelant qui rayonne de virtuosité ; voix et instruments se surpassent dans un jeu captivant. Et même si ce joyau est indéniablement la composition la plus connue de Monteverdi, il reste encore beaucoup à découvrir. Philippe Herreweghe et Peter Van Heyghen donnent forme à leur vision de ce chef-d’œuvre. Un concert exceptionnel à ne pas manquer, donc!… Lisez plus

  • La fête de la musique classique

    Quiconque y a assisté ces dernières années peut en témoigner : c’est une véritable célébration de la musique classique – le classique sous toutes ses formes et dimensions, pour toutes les émotions et les occasions : Iedereen Klassiek emmène tout une chacun dans un joyeux bain de musique classique. Avec l’initiateur Klara et les nombreux partenaires brugeois, le Concertgebouw prépare une programmation exubérante, avec des ramifications dans tout le centre-ville. Comme toujours, nous nous échaufferons avec Fou de Bach et conformément à la tradition, le Brussels Philharmonic clôturera l’événement, cette fois avec quelques classiques connus sur le pupitre. Invitez donc à cet événement gratuit famille et amis et faites-leur découvrir la force et la beauté de Bach, Beethoven et Bruges.… Lisez plus

  • Telemann. Sonates pour flûte à bec

    À son époque, Telemann était plus célèbre que Bach. Et aujourd’hui? Bien qu’il ait écrit plus de 6 000 œuvres très différentes, on n’entend rarement sa musique aujourd’hui. Il est donc grand temps, en cette année anniversaire – Telemann est mort il y a 250 ans –, de ramener sur le devant de la scène ce géant du baroque. Erik Bosgraaf, superstar de la flûte à bec, jouera en compagnie du claveciniste italien Francesco Corti les Sonates pour flûte à bec de Telemann. Une musique joyeuse, ingénieuse et chaleureuse, dans laquelle Telemann explore les styles musicaux alors populaires en Europe.… Lisez plus

  • Koen Plaetinck & Miyoune Kim

    Bach se retournerait-il dans sa tombe si l’on jouait son œuvre sur un instrument moderne comme le marimba? Probablement pas: il aimait lui-même expérimenter des instruments plutôt inhabituels. Koen Plaetinck joue son œuvre au marimba. Et comme quatre baguettes ne suffisent pas pour les Variations Goldberg, il reçoit le renfort de Miyoune Kim. Le thème et ses trente variations offrent à chacun ce qu’il veut: virtuosité étourdissante alternant avec un contrepoint ingénieux, moments apaisés côtoyant des prouesses techniques.… Lisez plus

  • Et exultavit spiritum meum

    Des images captivantes, des atmosphères changeantes et peut-être bien la protagoniste la plus aimée: voilà tout ce que signifie le Magnificat. The Sixteen pioche les plus beaux exemples de cinq siècles de musique chorale, de la puissante polyphonie de Lassus et Victoria jusqu’aux « Mags » anglais du XXe siècle. Une toute nouvelle œuvre du jeune Anglais Thomas Hyde prouve que la tradition chorale est toujours bien vivante de l’autre côté de la Manche.… Lisez plus

  • Atelier - Chorals de Noël baroques

    Le Magnificat de Bach que nous connaissons aujourd’hui est une composition compacte et vigoureuse de musique festive. Mais à sa création, l’œuvre était totalement différente. Bach ajouta en effet à des moments tactiques quatre laudes, de petits morceaux avec lesquels il renvoie à la fête de Noël. Au cours de cet atelier en la magnifique église Begijnhof, le public abordera ce répertoire avec les chanteurs du Collegium de Dunis et leur chef Ignace Thevelein. Il y a une répétition à 20h00 au Concertgebouw le 30 novembre.… Lisez plus

  • Bach. Magnificat

    Le premier Noël de Bach à Leipzig fut une grande responsabilité. En sa qualité de nouveau cantor de Saint-Thomas, il déploya sa musique alors la plus impressionnante. Un fait remarquable, car durant sept mois, il avait écrit et interprété une à deux nouvelle(s) cantate(s) par semaine. Et pour cette fête de Noël, il devait faire ses preuves dans une ville qui, depuis la récente fermeture de sa maison d’opéra, restait sur sa faim en matière de divertissements musicaux. Le Magnificat offre donc un drame majestueux à une échelle compacte, du moins dans la dernière version de Bach avec trompettes de cérémonie. C’est au tour de Vox Luminis, nouvel ensemble en résidence au Concertgebouw, de faire bonne impression. Il instaurera une parfaite atmosphère de Noël, avec le Magnificat de Kuhnau, une œuvre que Bach a très probablement dirigée. D’Allemagne du Sud, on entendra encore une cantate de Pachelbel, aujourd’hui surtout connu pour son Canon, mais en son temps célèbre pour ses talents d’organiste. Sans chef, Vox Luminis s’immerge ce soir davantage encore dans la musique.… Lisez plus

  • Concert de Noël. Carmina Latina

    Espagnols et Portugais ont fait voile vers le continent américain en emportant leur tradition musicale, la polyphonie. Les bibliothèques du Pérou et de l’Argentine au Mexique regorgent de musique de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Mondes, inspirées des sonorités que les compositeurs entendaient dans la rue. Leonardo García Alarcón bâtit des fêtes comme nul autre ; il s’empare ce Noël de musiques qui faire battre la chamade.… Lisez plus

  • Béatrice Massin & Compagnie Fêtes galantes

    Avec sa passion pour la danse baroque, la chorégraphe française Béatrice Massin a été surnommée « musicienne de l’espace ». Sa toute nouvelle création, Mass B – sur des extraits de la Messe en si mineur de Bach, en partie arrangée par l’artiste sonore Emmanuel Nappey –, cherche précautionneusement l’équilibre entre danse baroque et contemporaine. Il s’ensuit un dialogue énergique entre l’individu et le groupe: l’art de la fugue, en version dansée.… Lisez plus