By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Wishlist0

Social media

Agenda

From Sun 22.10.17 Vocal
  • A feast of classical music

    Anyone who has attended in recent years will confirm it: this is a veritable feast of classical music. Classical music comes in all shapes and sizes, for every emotion and every occasion: Iedereen Klassiek bathes everyone and everything in a joyful classical-music bath. Together with initiator Klara and many Bruges-based partners, the Concertgebouw is putting together a lavish celebration, with offshoots all over the inner city. As always, we warm up with Crazy about Bach and close with the wonderful Brussels Philharmonic, this time performing some well-known classics. Invite your family and friends to this free event, so that they too can discover the power and beauty of Bach, Beethoven and Bruges.… Read more

  • Bochumer Symphoniker

    A cathedral of sound, that’s the very least one can say about Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem. This large-scale work for two orchestras, two choirs, organ and vocal soloists was performed for the first time at the consecration of the new Coventry Cathedral, built after the original had been destroyed in a World War II bombing raid. With this gigantic ‘sound machine’, Britten generates waves of sound that overwhelm the listener, heightening the effect of the subsequent deeply-touching poetic scenes that turn the listener’s gaze inward. Also deeply affecting is the way Britten intersperses the timeless Latin Requiem Mass with Wilfred Owen’s poignant war poetry. This World-War-I poet-soldier knew like no other how to capture the horrors of the trenches in frank, hard-hitting verse. Poetry that carries the stench of that mud, set in counterpoint to the refined chants of the funeral liturgy: there could be no more heartrending cry for lasting peace!… Read more

  • Britten. War Requiem

    Concertzaal Add to wishlist Last tickets:
    +32 70 22 12 12

    A cathedral of sound, that’s the very least one can say about Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem. This large-scale work for two orchestras, two choirs, organ and vocal soloists was performed for the first time at the consecration of the new Coventry Cathedral, built after the original had been destroyed in a World War II bombing raid. With this gigantic ‘sound machine’, Britten generates waves of sound that overwhelm the listener, heightening the effect of the subsequent deeply-touching poetic scenes that turn the listener’s gaze inward. Also deeply affecting is the way Britten intersperses the timeless Latin Requiem Mass with Wilfred Owen’s poignant war poetry. This World-War-I poet-soldier knew like no other how to capture the horrors of the trenches in frank, hard-hitting verse. Poetry that carries the stench of that mud, set in counterpoint to the refined chants of the funeral liturgy: there could be no more heartrending cry for lasting peace!… Read more

  • Et exultavit spiritum meum

    Gripping images, alternating moods and perhaps the best-beloved central figure of all time: the Magnificat has it all. The Sixteen select the finest examples of five centuries of choral music, from the magnificent polyphony of Lassus and Victoria to some thoroughly English Magnificats from the 20th century. That the choral tradition across the Channel is still very much alive is proven by a brand new work by young Englishman Thomas Hyde.… Read more

  • Vox Luminis

    Bach’s first Christmas in Leipzig was a weighty responsibility: the new Thomas Cantor had to produce his most impressive music to date. No easy task, because for seven months he had been composing and performing a new cantata every week, sometimes even two. And now at Christmas he had to prove himself in a city that had been left musically hungry by the recent closure of the opera house. Bach acquitted himself magnificently. His Magnificat generates great drama on a compact scale, especially in his later version with festive trumpets. It is now the turn of our new resident artists Vox Luminis to make an impression. They complete the Christmas atmosphere with a Magnificat setting by Kuhnau - a work Bach himself undoubtedly also conducted - and from southern Germany a cantata by Pachelbel, who is nowadays best known for his Canon, but was a highly regarded organist in his day. Performing this evening, without a conductor, Vox Luminis take us deep into the music.… Read more

  • Christmas Concert. Carmina Latina

    When they went to the Americas, the Spaniards and Portuguese brought their own musical traditions with them: polyphony included. Libraries from Peru and Argentina to Mexico filled up with music from both the New and Old Worlds, inspired by the sounds enthusiastic composers heard on the street. This Christmas Leonardo García Alarcón - who can put on a party like no other - selects music that makes the heart beat faster.… Read more

  • Stabat Mater

    With four meditations on death and parting, Vox Luminis and the instrumentalists of L'Acheron touch upon the heart of the Passion. From Jesus' last thoughts, to Mary's disconsolate words at the foot of the Cross, to Buxtehude's personal grief at the loss of his father. Kerll’s requiem also has personal intimacy: after a brilliant career in places such as Brussels, Munich and Vienna, he wrote it with his own death in mind and specifically asked for it to be performed at his own funeral.… Read more

  • Strauss. Till Eulenspiegel

    Richard Strauss was one of the most important composers of the late German Romantic, post-Wagner, and a renowned musical jack-of-all-trades. Navigating his way between artistic conviction and the demands of the music market, he liked to draw his inspiration from the merry-go-round of everyday life. With two symphonic poems and a selection of his incomparable lieder - an intriguing stylistic evolution of more than seven decades - Anima honour an unfettered thinker and wonderful storyteller.… Read more

  • Telemann. Der Tag des Gerichts

    ‘An oratorio full of powerful emotion’, read the announcement in the local newspaper. And indeed, on March 17, 1762, just before Easter, Hamburg discovered this to be true, when it first heard Telemann's Tag des Gerichts, one of his most impressive works. In his latter years, Telemann managed to incorporate the new Classical style into his Baroque music wonderfully well. The lyrical libretto - about the struggle between believers and unbelievers - is highly dramatic and brimming with striking images that are simply crying out for the most beautiful and surprising effects. A work emphatically on the borderline between church and stage. … Read more

  • The Tallis Scholars

    7 a.m., 14 October, 1487: with the church bells still ringing, Jacob Obrecht’s Missa de Sancto Donatiano is sung for the very first time, at the tomb of Donaas de Moor in Bruges’s Sint-Jakobskerk. More than five centuries later, it is still an astonishing masterpiece. With references to his name saint (Donatian), Bruges’s musical traditions and Donaas’s charity towards the city’s poor, the composer very precisely commemorates the life of the deceased. As he also did in his Missa de Sancto Martino, sung by Psallentes on Friday, Obrecht transforms local ingredients into the most universal music. For the opening of this first edition of the festival, The Tallis Scholars perform the Missa de Sancto Donatiano in the place it was first heard . Conductor Peter Phillips sets Obrecht alongside his English contemporaries Browne and Fayrfax – cross-channel commercial contacts were very close - and a wonderful Magnificat, one of the last works by South Fleming Nicolas Gombert.… Read more

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des services adaptés à vos centres d’intérêts et de rendre votre expérience de navigation encore plus agréable. OK / Plus d’informations

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Liste d'envies0

Social media

Agenda

A partir de mar. 24.10.17 Vocal
  • La fête de la musique classique

    Quiconque y a assisté ces dernières années peut en témoigner : c’est une véritable célébration de la musique classique – le classique sous toutes ses formes et dimensions, pour toutes les émotions et les occasions : Iedereen Klassiek emmène tout une chacun dans un joyeux bain de musique classique. Avec l’initiateur Klara et les nombreux partenaires brugeois, le Concertgebouw prépare une programmation exubérante, avec des ramifications dans tout le centre-ville. Comme toujours, nous nous échaufferons avec Fou de Bach et conformément à la tradition, le Brussels Philharmonic clôturera l’événement, cette fois avec quelques classiques connus sur le pupitre. Invitez donc à cet événement gratuit famille et amis et faites-leur découvrir la force et la beauté de Bach, Beethoven et Bruges.… Lisez plus

  • Bochumer Symphoniker

    Une cathédrale de sons – voilà le moins que l’on puisse dire du War Requiem de Benjamin Britten. Cette œuvre aux amples dimensions pour deux chœurs, deux orchestres, orgue et chanteurs solistes, a résonné pour la première fois dans la cathédrale de Coventry, qui, réduite en ruines durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, venait d’être reconstruite. Avec ce gigantesque appareil sonore, le compositeur produit tantôt des vagues de sons qui submergent l’auditeur, tantôt des tableaux profonds et poétiques qui ramènent le regard vers l’intérieur. Britten alterne sans cesse de façon bouleversante l’atemporelle messe des morts latine et la triste poésie de guerre de Wilfred Owen. Ce soldat-poète de la Première Guerre mondiale a su comme nul autre saisir en vers l’horreur des tranchées. Une poésie qui sent encore la boue, et un contrepoint aux chants lisses de la liturgie religieuse des morts: ce cri reste des plus déchirants après une paix durable!… Lisez plus

  • Britten. War Requiem

    Une cathédrale de sons – voilà le moins que l’on puisse dire du War Requiem de Benjamin Britten. Cette œuvre aux amples dimensions pour deux chœurs, deux orchestres, orgue et chanteurs solistes, a résonné pour la première fois dans la cathédrale de Coventry, qui, réduite en ruines durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, venait d’être reconstruite. Avec ce gigantesque appareil sonore, le compositeur produit tantôt des vagues de sons qui submergent l’auditeur, tantôt des tableaux profonds et poétiques qui ramènent le regard vers l’intérieur. Britten alterne sans cesse de façon bouleversante l’atemporelle messe des morts latine et la triste poésie de guerre de Wilfred Owen. Ce soldat-poète de la Première Guerre mondiale a su comme nul autre saisir en vers l’horreur des tranchées. Une poésie qui sent encore la boue, et un contrepoint aux chants lisses de la liturgie religieuse des morts: ce cri reste des plus déchirants après une paix durable!… Lisez plus

  • Et exultavit spiritum meum

    Des images captivantes, des atmosphères changeantes et peut-être bien la protagoniste la plus aimée: voilà tout ce que signifie le Magnificat. The Sixteen pioche les plus beaux exemples de cinq siècles de musique chorale, de la puissante polyphonie de Lassus et Victoria jusqu’aux « Mags » anglais du XXe siècle. Une toute nouvelle œuvre du jeune Anglais Thomas Hyde prouve que la tradition chorale est toujours bien vivante de l’autre côté de la Manche.… Lisez plus

  • Vox Luminis

    Le premier Noël de Bach à Leipzig fut une grande responsabilité. En sa qualité de nouveau cantor de Saint-Thomas, il déploya sa musique alors la plus impressionnante. Un fait remarquable, car durant sept mois, il avait écrit et interprété une à deux nouvelle(s) cantate(s) par semaine. Et pour cette fête de Noël, il devait faire ses preuves dans une ville qui, depuis la récente fermeture de sa maison d’opéra, restait sur sa faim en matière de divertissements musicaux. Le Magnificat offre donc un drame majestueux à une échelle compacte, du moins dans la dernière version de Bach avec trompettes de cérémonie. C’est au tour de Vox Luminis, nouvel ensemble en résidence au Concertgebouw, de faire bonne impression. Il instaurera une parfaite atmosphère de Noël, avec le Magnificat de Kuhnau, une œuvre que Bach a très probablement dirigée. D’Allemagne du Sud, on entendra encore une cantate de Pachelbel, aujourd’hui surtout connu pour son Canon, mais en son temps célèbre pour ses talents d’organiste. Sans chef, Vox Luminis s’immerge ce soir davantage encore dans la musique.… Lisez plus

  • Concert de Noël. Carmina Latina

    Espagnols et Portugais ont fait voile vers le continent américain en emportant leur tradition musicale, la polyphonie. Les bibliothèques du Pérou et de l’Argentine au Mexique regorgent de musique de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Mondes, inspirées des sonorités que les compositeurs entendaient dans la rue. Leonardo García Alarcón bâtit des fêtes comme nul autre ; il s’empare ce Noël de musiques qui faire battre la chamade.… Lisez plus

  • Le Stabat Mater de Bach

    Le Stabat Mater de Pergolèse a probablement dès le premier jour accédé au hit-parade, car une copie atterrit à Leipzig quelques années seulement après sa composition. Bach, profondément impressionné, ne put s’en empêcher: il remplaça scrupuleusement le texte latin par une version allemande du Miserere et le plaqua sur la musique originale du compositeur italien, en y apportant quelques adaptations majeures. … Lisez plus

  • So singen wir recht das Gratias

    Vers 1738, Bach a arrangé quelques-uns de ses plus beaux airs et chœurs pour en faire de la musique religieuse. Outre un nouveau texte, la musique bénéficia souvent d’un nouvel habit subtil. Deux cantates, amenées à refaire surface en partie dans les « messes luthériennes », compléteront ce concert de clôture riche en transformations.… Lisez plus

  • Stabat Mater

    Avec ces quatre méditations sur la mort et l’adieu, Vox Luminis et les instrumentistes de L’Achéron s’intéressent au cœur même du récit de la Passion, des dernières pensées de Jésus aux mots inconsolables de Marie au pied de la Croix – en passant par le chagrin de Buxtehude après la mort de son père. Le requiem de Kerll présente aussi sa touche intime: au crépuscule d’une carrière étincelante menée entre autres à Bruxelles, Munich et Vienne, il demanda que cette œuvre soit donnée à ses propres funérailles.… Lisez plus

  • Strauss. Till Eulenspiegel

    Après Wagner, Richard Strauss fut un des compositeurs allemands les plus importants et un homme-orchestre notoire. Oscillant entre ses convictions artistiques et les lois du marché de la musique, Strauss s’inspirait de préférence des méandres de la vie quotidienne. Avec deux poèmes symphoniques et une sélection de ses incomparables lieder, montrant une évolution stylistique captivante couvrant plus de sept décennies, Anima rend hommage à un penseur sans frontières, un merveilleux fabulateur.… Lisez plus

  • Telemann. Der Tag des Gerichts

    « Un oratorio regorgeant de puissantes émotions », annonçait le journal local. Et de fait: le 17 mars 1762, peu avant Pâques, Hambourg découvre avec Der Tag des Gerichts une des œuvres les plus impressionnantes de Telemann. Dans ses dernières années, le compositeur a su merveilleusement intégrer le nouveau style classique à sa musique baroque. Le livret lyrique mettant en scène la lutte entre croyants et athées offre plus qu’assez de drame, aux nombreuses images éloquentes qui appellent les effets les plus beaux et les plus surprenants. Une œuvre explicitement à mi-chemin entre l’église et la scène. … Lisez plus

  • The Tallis Scholars

    14 octobre 1487, 7h du matin: tandis que les cloches carillonnent, la Missa de Sancto Donatiano de Jacob Obrecht retentit pour la première fois dans l’église Saint-Jacques de Bruges, auprès du tombeau de Donaas de Moor. Près de cinq siècles plus tard, elle reste un singulier chef-d’œuvre. Le compositeur y commémore très précisément, la vie du défunt, émaillée d’allusions à son saint patron, aux coutumes musicales de Bruges et aux bonnes œuvres de Donaas pour les pauvres de la ville. Tout comme dans la Missa de Sancto Martino, donnée le vendredi par Psallentes, Obrecht crée avec quelques ingrédients locaux une musique des plus universelles. Pour l’ouverture de cette première édition du festival, The Tallis Scholars se produisent sur le lieu même de la création de l’œuvre. Le chef de chœur Peter Phillips replace Obrecht aux côtés de ses contemporains anglais Browne et Fayrfax – les contacts commerciaux de part et d’autre de la Manche étaient très nourris – et d’un splendide Magnificat comptant parmi les dernières œuvres du Flamand Nicolas Gombert.… Lisez plus