By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Wishlist0

Social media

Agenda

From Fri 08.04.16
  • An Evening with Efterklang

    With a career that now spans more than 15 years, Efterklang are one of Denmark’s most influential indie bands. Over those years, they’ve built up a ground-breaking oeuvre, influenced by experimental pop, electronics and contemporary classical. Their characteristic orchestral music constantly alternates between subtlety and bombast, performed with a virtuoso ear for composition, sound and melody.  In 2014 core band members Casper Clausen, Mads Brauer and Rasmus Stolberg took a sabbatical to revitalise Efterklang and to focus on the future. This resulted in a new band project and an opera. The dynamic trio also found time to launch a festival in Berlin and set up an online radio station, The Lake, in Copenhagen.  During REVERBERATIONS, Efterklang present the Belgian premiere of the new opera LEAVES - The Colour of Falling (concert version). The opera composed by Karsten Fundal and Efterklang with English lyrics by Ursula Andkjær Olsen premiered at Copenhagen Opera Festival Summer 2015 and consists of 11 haunting songs about tragedy and lost love, carried by a highly distinctive sound, in which acoustic elements are interwoven with electronics. For this Efterklang are joined by eight additional musicians and four additional vocalists. Later in the evening, there will be a concert by new band LIIMA, a collaboration between Efterklang and Finnish percussionist Tatu Rönkkö.  There will also be screenings of An Island and The Ghost of Piramida, two film projects in which the band was involved. The music in the MM!-Café will be streamed from Copenhagen by The Lake Radio.… Read more

  • In dialogue

    Karen Willems, frontwoman of Inwolves, former drummer of Yuko, Zita Swoon Group and 1,001 other projects, is one of the most inventive musicians of her generation. During MORE MUSIC! she’ll be entering into dialogues with four artists, from diverse musical backgrounds, for three memorable improv sessions that will once again highlight her multifaceted talent. Dialogue # 1: Karen Willems - Benjamin Glorieux (18.00) Cellist-composer Benjamin Glorieux, a master of both centuries-old and contemporary classical music, has worked with renowned jazz musicians and for various theatre productions. A unique set with the 21 bronze carillon bells of the Concertgebouw’s roof terrace playing a leading role. Dialogue # 2: Karen Willems - CHVE (Amenra) (19.20) As CHVE, Colin H. Van Eeckhout, vocal powerhouse of the intensely-heavy collective Amenra, bares his soul, with the help of folk, drone and his intriguing voice. Dialogue # 3: Karen Willems - Cycle (22.00) A dialogue in which Willems’ drumming techniques, dynamism, nuance and abstraction are the perfect foil for minimalist Dirk Serries’ abstract and interactive guitar underpinning and Martina Verhoeven’s fascinating approach to the double bass. A unique cross-fertilization of free jazz, minimalism and avant-garde, built with noise, silence, repetition, atmosphere and dynamics.… Read more

  • An impressive name should always have an equally impressive voice: Willis Earl Beal uses his own vocal specimen as an ultra-dynamic soul instrument, alternately whispering softly and roaring loudly.   His story is exceptional: Beal was raised by his grandmother, served in the army, lived on the streets, started making music, left CDs behind in random places, put his phone number on flyers and sang songs to the people who then phoned him. He then made clever use of our fascination for outsiders to focus attention on his rough-edged debut album Acousmatic Sorcery (2012). It sounds like a mesmerising black mass, with which he, a born seducer, is luring his listeners into dark places. His unpolished blues mutations betray a weakness for old, crackling blues, authentic soul and his hero Tom Waits. Late last year he released his fourth album Nocturnes. Once again it had tones of loneliness, trauma and squandered love. And yet we immediately believe him when at an end of Coming Through, his duet with Cat Power, he mutters 'don’t worry baby, it's gonna be alright'. Besides four albums in as many years, Beal’s rampant creativity has also produced drawings and writings. The animated short film Principles of a Protagonist, with drawings and music by his hand, is an interesting introduction to his work! Warning: live concerts by Willis Earl Beal are always a slightly strange experience. Welcome to the church of nobody!… Read more

  • The Colorist is the eight-member ensemble put together by drummer Aarich Jespers (Zita Swoon, Kiss My Jazz) and percussionist Kobe Proesmans (Gabriel Rios). They play adventurous, out-of-the-box music that nevertheless manages to appeal to a wide audience. Using conventional instruments (piano, strings, clarinet…) underpinned by self-built percussion instruments (Jespers is also an instrument builder) The Colorist create a highly individual and intriguing sound spectrum that entices other artists into adventurous collaborations. Icelandic vocalist Emiliana Torrini enthusiastically accepted the challenge of letting her songs be reworked by The Colorist. Torrini scored a worldwide hit with ‘Jungle Drum’, but let’s forget that rakatung ketung ketuketuke tungtung for a moment. Performing live, The Colorist strip back Torrini’s layers and rattle the arrangements, until all that is left is the core of her songs and their vocal line. This challenging musical balancing act takes Torrini out of her comfort zone as a singer and gives her songs a new dimension. A surprising and compelling live-experience!… Read more

  • The Coed Jail Tour

    Pere Ubu, the band fronted by the misanthropic and notoriously cantankerous David Thomas – famed for his substantial girth and manic performances – are impossible to sum up in a few sentences. Since 1975 they have been icons of post-punk: heavily influenced by The Stooges, Captain Beefheart and The Velvet Underground, but above all by a brouhaha of elements drawn from musique concrete and the experimental avant-garde, and with the ever volatile Thomas screaming spastically and nasally through his surrealistic texts. It’s a dizzily contrary and unpredictable sound and thus all the more daringly unique and influential. Without Pere Ubu, there would have been no Gang of Four, Joy Division, Hüsker Dü, Oxbow or Pixies. Besides sounding like the missing link between The Velvet Underground and punk, the band’s sound can best be described as a disorienting mix of avant-garage rock, found sound, analogue synths, psychedelic electronics, heavy bass, fractured song structures and howling vocals. With David Thomas as their only constant, Pere Ubu have now been around for 40 years. To celebrate that milestone, Fire Records are releasing five extremely fine LP boxsets. The first, ‘Elitism for the People 1975-1978’ includes their first two albums ‘The Modern Dance’ and ‘Dub Housing’, along with ‘The Hearpen Singles (1975-1977)’ and the live album ‘Manhattan’. The second, ‘Architecture of Language 1979-1982’, brings together the albums ‘New Picnic Time’, ‘The Art of Walking’ and ‘Song of the Bailing Man’. For The Coed Jail Tour, Thomas has compiled an exclusive set list of the darker, abstract material in these two boxsets. To ensure an overwhelming result, Pere Ubu work their way through this set without pausing between numbers. The line-up consists of Tom Herman (guitarist from 1975 to 1979 and from 1997 to 2002) David Thomas, Robert Wheeler, Michele Temple and Steve Mehlman. If you really want to understand what Pere Ubu are all about, then be sure to read this 30-page essay, written by David Thomas himself. Humo about debut album The Modern Dance: 'One of the twenty best records you’ve never heard.'… Read more

  • Kode9, Darkstar & Rival Consoles

    vvk € 15  add € 18  Excl. €1 online fee KODE9 (uk – HYPERDUB dj-set) Kode9: one of the founding members of the early dubstep scene and prominent critic when the genre was on the brink of collapse due to an excess of basses and the pressure of the American EDM-circus. Kode9 chose a more experimental path for his Hyperdub label (see also Burial, LV, Darkstar …) and welcomed UK Funky, (Cooly G, Ill Blue …), footwork (Dj Rashad, Dj Spinn …) and experimental electronics (Laurel Halo, Fatima Al Quadiri, Dean Blunt, Inga Copeland …). After the regretful death of long time friend and collaborator The Space Ape MC, Kode9 started working on ‘Nothing’, a first solo album. Again a true masterpiece on the junction of early dubstep, grime and Chicago footwork. During More Music! Kode9 will bring an exclusive Hyperdub dj-set! DARKSTAR live (uk – WARP) Darkstar is at home on leading labels as Hyperdub and Warp, has its roots in the late noughties dubstepscene but has wide open ears for the experimental indiepop f a.o. Animal Collective and Grizzly Bear. The music of Aiden Whalley and James Young went through a big transformation since their first releases on Kode9’s label in 2007. Darkstar reached a temporary climax with last year’s praised and anticipated ‘Foam Island’. After the British elections in 2015, Whalley and Young started an ambitious project, setting up conversations with local youngsters in Huddersmouth. The result was a strong punch of poppy electronics, inspired by the actual social climate in North Britain. Highly up to date and immensely beautiful! RIVAL CONSOLES live (uk – ERASED TAPES) London based producer Ryan Lee West was the first signing on leading label Erased Tapes. His music, first under the moniker Aparatec and now Rival Consoles, balances on the boundaries of dancefloor and atmosphere. Highly recommended for fans of labelmates Kiasmos and Nils Frahm of atmospheric techno heroes as James Holden and Jon Hopkins. Last album ‘Howl’ completes West’s organically built electronics, mostly composed of rough sketches on guitar and piano. Pitchfork, SPIN and Resident Advisor were tempted. Rival Consoles presented his impressive live AV show in Tate Modern and was taken on tour by Clark, Nosaj Thing, Luke Abott and Kisamos. ‘The soundscapes he's constructed on his third LP, Howl, are spiky and imposing, too solid to sink into. The music is always shifting, so it's impossible to lose track of time while listening.’ — Pitchfork    … Read more

  • plays the music of Twin Peaks

    Xiu Xiu is the uncompromising and confrontational musical project, set up in 2002 by American multi-instrumentalist Jamie Steward. A constant stream of releases and tours, and collaborations with musicians like Grouper, Michael Gira and Deerhoof, have meanwhile garnered the band veritable cult status. Xiu Xiu aren’t restrained by artistic boundaries or genres: their music shifts between synthpop, black noise, avant-rock and pure experiment. They also turn their hands to artwork and even online art. No band is therefore better suited to interpret and perform the Twin Peaks soundtrack composed by Angelo Badalamenti and David Lynch. Steward reworked the music at the request of Lynch himself. ‘XIU XIU plays the music of TWIN PEAKS’ premiered in Brisbane and has since been touring selected venues. Be warned, when they visit, Killer BOB will be with them!… Read more

  • Olé. Ravel, Lalo & Bizet

    February 1875: Paris first hears Lalo’s Symphonie espagnol. Barely a month later, Bizet introduces his fiery Spanish gypsy girl Carmen. In one fell swoop, Spain is put on the French musical map. French composers liked to cross the Pyrenees to pick up inspiration from Spain’s rich music and dance culture. In his five movement symphony for violin and orchestra - composed with Andalusian violinist Pablo De Sarasate, who had settled in Paris, in mind - Lalo ignites Spanish fireworks. A handful of Spanish melodies from Bizet’s opera Carmen became so popular that after his death they enjoyed a second life in the form of an orchestral suite. Born near to the Spanish border to a Basque mother, is it any surprise that the composer of the Boléro imbibed the Spanish bug with his mother's milk? … Read more

  • Mare nostrum

    The shores of the Mediterranean are the cradle of our mythology, philosophy and theology, but also the scene of intense conflict. Invasion and migration still colour the roots and the lives of those who live there. The three great monotheistic religions have also left their imprint. As always, via music, Jordi Savall reveals the links between all those people and cultures. In Mare nostrum he brings oral traditions - Sephardic, Berber, Greek, Arabic, Hebrew, Andalusian and his own Catalan - together with notated music from the Italian trecento and from Ottoman and Greek sources. Expect an eclectic mix of incredible richness, a wealth we can meanwhile also call our own.… Read more

  • Opening film: As I Open My Eyes

    For many years, in Bruges, Cinema Novo was the highlight of the year for lovers of top-quality world-cinema. Since 2013 it has operated under the name ‘MOOOV Film Festival Bruges’ and has spread its activities across the whole of Flanders. MOOOV reaches out to people and touches them, via feature films and documentaries from all over the world. It is now the major film festival in its genre in Flanders, attracting 100,000 visitors a year to its various Flemish locations. The full programme, of some seventy films, will be announced online in the course of March via www.mooov.be. Come to the MOOOV Festival opening film in the Concertgebouw and immediately feel like a film star on the red carpet. Besides the film, you can also enjoy lots of peripheral spectacle and a snack and a drink in an exceptional setting.  … Read more

  • After the Earthquake of Lisbon

    In 1755 what should have been a festive All Saints' Day, turned into a day of disaster: an earthquake, followed by immense tidal waves and raging fires, destroyed almost all of Lisbon. King John V’s fabulous music library also went up in smoke. This catastrophe turned European thinking upside down: so many dead, so much damage… could that really be the will of a good God? In Hamburg Telemann didn’t concern himself with such questions. His evocative Donnerode is both a tribute to his Portuguese colleagues and an acknowledgement of God’s omnipotence. Not coincidentally, he employed the same orchestral configuration Almeida liked to use, in the eight-part Mass Les Muffatti and Vox Luminis perform this evening, for example. Together, these multi-award-winning ensembles give this recently rediscovered gem of the European Baroque added lustre.… Read more

  • The idiosyncratic sound of Rebelo

    Portuguese prodigy João Lourenço Rebelo is perhaps the only composer to attach absolutely no importance to the publication of his works; he left that job to his patron, King John IV of Portugal. Thanks to the Portuguese monarch’s care (and money) Rebelo’s compositions were published in Rome in 1657, and have only thus been preserved for posterity. That they’ve been preserved is fortunate, because in this evening’s Vesper Psalms and Lamentations, Rebelo shows himself to be a highly original and idiosyncratic composer. By blending Venetian double-choir techniques with ‘early’ polyphony and his very personal use of chromatic elements, he gave Portuguese music its own face. His eight-voice lamentations can be counted among the very best of European Holy Week polyphony.… Read more

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des services adaptés à vos centres d’intérêts et de rendre votre expérience de navigation encore plus agréable. OK / Plus d’informations

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN
Liste d'envies0

Social media

Agenda

A partir de ven. 08.04.16
  • An Evening with Efterklang

    Avec plus de 15 ans de carrière, Efterklang est un des groupes indépendants les plus influents du Danemark. Tout au long de son histoire, ses musiciens ont élaboré une œuvre innovante, puisant ses influences autant dans l’électronique que la pop expérimentale ou la musique classique contemporaine. Leur musique orchestrale caractéristique, alternant sans cesse entre subtilité et emphase, est interprétée avec une oreille virtuose pour la composition, le son et la mélodie.  Le groupe formé par Casper Clausen, Mads Brauer et Rasmus Stolberg, a pris en 2014 une année sabbatique pour réorienter son avenir. Cette réflexion a donné lieu à un nouveau concept de groupe et un opéra ; le groupe a par ailleurs créé un festival à Berlin et une station de radio à Copenhague.  Lors de la soirée REVERBERATIONS, le groupe présentera en première belge la version de concert de son tout dernier projet, LEAVES - The Colour Of Falling. Cette composition réunit 11 chansons envoûtantes sur le drame et l’amour perdu, et flotte sur un son entêtant entremêlant éléments acoustiques et électronique. Le groupe bénéficie pour cela de l’accompagnement live de huit musiciens et quatre chanteurs supplémentaires. La soirée se poursuivra avec un concert de LIIMA, le nouveau groupe du noyau dur d’Efterklang.  On pourra également visionner An Island et The Ghost Of Piramida, deux projets cinématographiques auxquels a participé le groupe ; la musique du MM!-café sera diffusée en streaming depuis Copenhague par The Lake Radio.… Lisez plus

  • In dialogue

    Karen Willems, figure phare d’Inwolves, (ex-)percussionniste d’entre autres Yuko, Zita Swoon Group et 1001 autres projets, compte parmi les musiciens les plus inventifs de sa génération. Pendant MORE MUSIC! elle entamera un dialogue de circonstance avec quatre artistes dotés de solides bases musicales, donnant lieu à trois improvisations persistantes mettant une fois de plus en valeur son vaste talent. Dialogue # 1 : Karen Willems – Benjamin Glorieux (18h) Le violoncelliste et compositeur Benjamin Glorieux s’est intéressé à la musique médiévale comme à la musique contemporaine, et a travaillé avec des musiciens jazz réputés ou encore pour diverses productions théâtrales. Une scène d’exception avec dans le rôle principal les 21 cloches de bronze du carillon sur le toit-terrasse du Concertgebouw. Dialogue # 2 : Karen Willems – CHVE (Amenra) (19.20h) C’est sous le pseudonyme CHVE que Colin H. Van Eeckhout, chanteur de l’écrasant collectif Amenra, dévoile son âme sur des sons folk, bourdonnements ou encore avec son intrigant chant de gorge. Dialogue # 3 : Karen Willems – Cycle (22h) Un dialogue où les techniques de percussion, nuances, dynamique et abstraction rythmique de Willems sont des atouts face aux basses de guitare abstraites et interactives du minimaliste Dirk Serries et à l’approche fascinante de la contrebasse de Martina Verhoeven. Un mélange unique de free-jazz, de minimalisme et d’avant-garde, mêlant bruit, silence, répétition, ambiance et dynamique.… Lisez plus

  • À nom imposant, il faut une voix au moins aussi imposante : Willis Earl Beal utilise son organe vocal à la manière d’un instrument soul ultra-dynamique, qu’il laisse tout à tour murmurer tendrement ou rugir à gorge déployée. Son histoire non plus n’est pas banale : Beal a été soldat, il a habité chez sa grand-mère, erré dans les rues, abandonné des CD dans des lieux arbitraires, griffonné son numéro de téléphone sur des flyers et chanté des chansons aux gens qui l’appelaient ensuite. Il s’est servi de notre fascination pour les laissés-pour-compte pour se faire remarquer lors de ses débuts décousus. Acousmatic Sorcery (2012) a des sonorités de messe noire ensorcelante par laquelle il attire ses auditeurs en des lieux sombres tel un tentateur né. Ses âpres mutations blues trahissent un faible pour le vieux blues crachotant, la soul authentique et son héros Tom Waits. Sorti l’an dernier, son quatrième disque Nocturnes a redonné à entendre des traces de solitude, de traumatismes et d’amour gâché. Et pourtant, on le croit aussitôt quand, à la fin de Coming Through, son duo avec Cat Power, il marmonne « don’t worry baby, it’s gonna be allright ». Tout ira bien ! Outre quatre disques en autant d’années, dessins et écriture sont un exutoire à l’irrésistible créativité de W.E.B. Le court-métrage animé Principles Of A Protagonist, sur des dessins et une musique de sa main, offre déjà une introduction intéressante à son œuvre ! Avertissement : les concerts de Willis Earl Beal sont toujours une expérience un peu étrange. Welcome to the church of nobody !  … Lisez plus

  • The Colorist est un ensemble de huit personnes autour du batteur Aarich Jespers (Zita Swoon, Kiss My Jazz) et du percussionniste Kobe Proesmans (Gabriel Rios). Synonyme de musique aventureuse, hors du quotidien, le groupe sait en même temps s’adresser à un public large. Composé d’un instrumentarium classique (entre autres piano, cordes, clarinette) étoffé de percussions fabriquées par Jespers (à la fois batteur et facteur d’instruments), The Colorist élabore un spectre sonore captivant et totalement unique avec lequel il entraîne d’autres artistes dans une collaboration osée. La chanteuse islandaise Emiliana Torrini a relevé le défi avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme et confié ses chansons au groupe. Torrini a remporté un succès mondial avec ‘ungle Drum, sans oublier son rakatung ketung ketuketuke tungtung. The Colorist décortique totalement la Torrini, joue avec les arrangements pour ne conserver que le cœur de ses chansons et sa ligne de chant. Un exercice d’équilibre musical en forme de défi qui extirpe Emiliana de sa zone de confort et ajoute une nouvelle dimension à ses numéros. Une expérience live surprenante et envoûtante !… Lisez plus

  • The Coed Jail Tour

    Pere Ubu, le groupe formé autour de David Thomas, ronchon et misanthrope notoire, se résume difficilement en quelques phrases. Pere Ubu fait depuis 1975 figure d’icône du post-punk : fortement influencé par The Stooges, Captain Beefheart et The Velvet Underground, il regroupe d’innombrables éléments de la musique concrète et de l’avant-garde expérimentale avec l’inimitable Thomas : criant, nasillant, dansant par spasme sur ses textes surréalistes. Un son indocile et incomparable, mais d’autant plus unique, plus osé et plus influent. Sans Pere Ubu, pas de Gang Of Four, ni de Joy Division, Hüsker Dü, Oxbow ou Pixies. Outre le chaînon manquant entre The Velvet Underground et le punk, le groupe est surtout un mélange déstabilisant de rock d’avant-garage, de sons trouvés, de synthés analogiques, d’électronique psychédélique, de basses pesantes, de structures de chansons bafouillantes et de chants glapissants. Pere Ubu existe depuis 40 ans – avec David Thomas pour seule constante – et pour l’occasion, Fire Records sort cinq très beaux coffrets de vinyles. Le premier, « Elitism For The People 1975-1978 », a paru en août et renferme les deux premiers albums « The Modern Dance » et « Dub Housing », ainsi que « The Hearpen Singles (1975-1977) » et l’album live « Manhattan ». Le deuxième coffret « Architecture Of Language 1979-1982 » réunit « New Picnic Time », « The Art Of Walking » et « Song Of The Bailing Man ». Pour The Coed Jail Tour, Thomas a composé une liste exclusive de titres extraits du matériau sombre et abstrait de ces deux coffrets. Pour faire une impression étourdissante, Pere Ubu a arrangé cet ensemble sans pause entre les numéros. Outre Tom Herman (guitariste de 1975 à 1979 et de 1997 à 2002), la distribution se compose de David Thomas, Robert Wheeler, Michele Temple et Steve Mehlman. Vous voulez vraiment comprendre ce qu’est Pere Ubu ? Lisez donc l’essai en 30 pages écrit par David Thomas en personne. Humo, à propos d’un des premiers disques, The Modern Dance : « Un des vingt meilleurs disques que l’on n’ait jamais entendu. »… Lisez plus

  • Kode9, Darkstar & Rival Consoles

    KODE9 (uk – HYPERDUB dj-set) Kode9 est une des figures de proue du dubstep, et un de ses critiques de premier plan quand le genre a commencé à pâtir de l’excès de basses et de la pression de l’Américain EDM Circus. Kode9 a envoyé son navire Hyperdub (voir aussi Burial, LV, Darkstar …) dans des eaux plus expérimentales et accueilli UK Funky (Cooly G, Ill Blue, …), footwork (Dj Rashad, Dj Spinn, …) et de l’électronique expérimentale (Laurel Halo, Fatima Al Quadiri, Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland, …). Après le décès de son ami et collaborateur The Space Ape MC, Kode9 a conçu son premier album solo, Nothing, un nouveau chef-d’œuvre à la croisée des débuts du dubstep, du grime et du Chicago footwork. Pendant MORE MUSIC!, Kode9 jouera sur une console dj exclusivité Hyperdub ! Vidéo: Respirator Vidéo: Hyperdub Mix DARKSTAR live (uk – WARP) Darkstar, familier des labels en vue Hyperdub et Warp, est ancré dans la scène dubstep de la fin des années 2000 mais s’intéresse beaucoup à la pop indépendante expérimentale façon Animal Collective et Grizzly Bear. La musique d’Aiden Whalley et de James Young a considérablement évolué depuis leurs premiers albums sur le label de Kode9 en 2007. Darkstar a été à son zénith avec Foam Island, son album très applaudi sorti l’an dernier. Whalley et Young ont commencé après les élections britanniques de 2015 un projet de trois mois dans le cadre duquel ils ont discuté avec des jeunes de Huddersmouth dans le nord de l’Angleterre. Cela a donné lieu à un album électronique/pop fort inspiré par l’actuel climat social du nord de l’Angleterre. D’une actualité brûlante et d’une beauté terrifiante ! Vidéo: Pin Secure   Vidéo: Through The Motions RIVAL CONSOLES live (uk – ERASED TAPES) Le producteur Ryan Lee West établi à Londres fut le premier à signer sur le label en vue Erased Tapes. Sa musique, d’abord sous le nom d’Aparatec et désormais celui de Rival Consoles, est un mélange de disco et d’ambiance. Un exercice d’équilibre pour les fans de ses compagnons de label Kiasmos et Nils Frahm, ou de pointures de l’atmospheric techno comme James Holden et Jon Hopkins. Sur le dernier disque Howl, West perfectionne son électronique à la structure organique, qui jaillit souvent d’esquisses brutes à la guitare et au piano. Pitchfork, SPIN et Resident Advisor ont viré de bord. Rival Consoles a donné son impressionnant spectacle audiovisuel live à la Tate Modern et a tourné avec Clark, Nosaj Thing, Luke Abott et Kiasmos. « Les paysages sonores qu’il a créés sur son troisième vinyle, Howl, sont tranchants et imposants, trop solides pour s’y enfoncer. La musique est en mouvement constant, il est donc impossible de perdre la notion du temps à l’écoute. »  — Pitchfork Vidéo: Voyager (Live in London)  Vidéo: Everything All At Once Vidéo: Howl… Lisez plus

  • plays the music of Twin Peaks

    Xiu Xiu, tel est le nom du projet musical sans compromis et aux allures de défi du multi-instrumentiste américain Jamie Steward. Un flot ininterrompu de disques et de tournées depuis 2002 et des collaborations avec des musiciens comme Grouper, Michael Gira et Deerhoof ont valu au groupe un véritable statut culte. Sur le plan artistique, Xiu Xiu ne se cantonne à aucune frontière ni à aucun genre, leur musique oscille entre pop synthétique, bruits noirs, avant-rock et expérimentation pure. L’œuvre du groupe inclut également illustrations et même art en ligne. Il n’y avait donc pas meilleur groupe pour s’approprier et réinterpréter la bande sonore de Twin Peaks, composée par Angelo Badalamenti et David Lynch. Jamie Steward a arrangé la musique à la demande de Lynch en personne. Après une première à Brisbane, « XIU XIU plays the music of TWIN PEAKS » a depuis fait le tour de scènes choisies. Avertissement : Killer BOB est aussi de la partie !… Lisez plus

  • Olé. Ravel, Lalo & Bizet

    Février 1875 : Paris découvre la Symphonie espagnole de Lalo. Moins d’un mois après, Bizet porte à la scène Carmen, une jeune tzigane espagnole. L’Espagne fait son apparition sur la carte musicale de la France. Dans leur musique, les compositeurs français franchissent volontiers les Pyrénées pour trouver l’inspiration dans la richesse culturelle de la musique et de la danse espagnoles. Dans sa symphonie en cinq mouvements pour violon et orchestre, Lalo allume un feu d’artifice espagnol, destiné au violoniste andalou Pablo De Sarasate établi à Paris. Certaines mélodies espagnoles de l’opéra Carmen devinrent si populaires qu’elles connurent une seconde vie après la mort de Bizet, réunies sous la forme d’une suite pour orchestre. Faut-il s’étonner que le compositeur du Boléro, né à la frontière espagnole d’une mère basque, ait lui aussi été contaminé dès son plus jeune âge par le virus espagnol ?… Lisez plus

  • Mare nostrum

    Les rives de la mer Méditerranée sont le berceau de notre mythologie, de notre philosophie et de notre théologie, mais aussi la scène de conflits intenses. Invasions et migrations caractérisent aujourd’hui encore les racines et la vie de ses habitants tandis que les trois grandes religions monothéistes y ont creusé leur sillon. Jordi Savall essaie comme toujours de dévoiler à l’aide de la musique les liens entre tous ces peuples et cultures. Dans Mare nostrum, il réunit les traditions orales séfarades, berbères, grecques, arabes, hébreux, andalouses et celle de sa Catalogne natale à la musique notée du trecento italien et de sources ottomanes et grecques. Attendez-vous à un mélange coloré d’une incroyable richesse. Une richesse devenue nôtre.… Lisez plus

  • As I Open My Eyes

    Voilà déjà plusieurs années que le Cinema Novo est le temple du cinéma mondial de qualité à Bruges. Depuis 2013, il organise le « MOOOV filmfestival Brugge » [festival de cinéma MOOOV de Bruges] et a élargi son rayon d’action à toute la Flandre. MOOOV veut toucher les gens par des films de fiction et des documentaires du monde entier. Aujourd’hui, MOOOV est le festival de cinéma le plus important de son genre en Flandre ; il vise chaque année 100 000 visiteurs en divers lieux en Flandre. La programmation complète, comptant près de septante films, paraîtra en ligne sur www.mooov.be courant mars. Venez voir le film d’ouverture de MOOOV au Concertgebouw et jouez à la star de cinéma sur le tapis rouge. Outre le film, vous pourrez profiter de l’animation off, des petits fours et d’un verre dans un cadre d’exception. … Lisez plus

  • Quoi de mieux qu’une répétition publique pour permettre aux enfants et aux jeunes de ressentir intensément la tension et les émotions du processus de répétition qui précède chaque concert ? Un concert réussi est le résultat d’une pratique assidue. À l’issue de la répétition, vous aurez la possibilité de poser des questions au chef d’orchestre ou à un musicien.… Lisez plus

  • Après le tremblement de terre de Lisbonne

    La Toussaint de 1755 qui s’annonçait festive tourna à la catastrophe. Un tremblement de terre, suivi d’un violent raz-de-marée et d’incendies ravageurs détruisirent presque tout Lisbonne. La fabuleuse bibliothèque musicale de João V partit elle aussi en fumée. La catastrophe ébranla en outre la pensée européenne : tant de morts, tant de dégâts pouvaient-ils vraiment être la volonté d’un Dieu bon ? À Hambourg, Telemann ne se préoccupa pas de telles questions : sa Donnerode très imagée est autant un hommage à ses collègues portugais qu’une affirmation de la toute-puissance de Dieu. Ce n’est pas un hasard s’il a utilisé l’effectif qu’employait volontiers Almeida, par exemple dans la messe à huit voix que Les Muffatti et Vox Luminis donneront ce soir. Ces deux ensembles comblés de prix interpréteront ensemble ce joyau récemment redécouvert du nouvel éclat de l’Europe baroque.… Lisez plus

  • Les sonorités entêtées de Rebelo

    L’enfant prodige portugais João Lourenço Rebelo est probablement le seul compositeur à trouver totalement accessoire l’édition de son œuvre ; cette tâche revient donc à son protecteur, le roi João IV. C’est grâce aux bons soins (et à l’argent) du monarque portugais que paraissent en 1657 à Rome les compositions de Rebelo – conservées pour la postérité de cette seule façon. Heureusement, car dans ses partitions des Vesperpsalmen et des Lamentations qui seront interprétées ce soir, Rebelo se présente comme un compositeur extrêmement original, qui n’en fait qu’à sa tête. En associant la technique vénitienne du double chœur à l’« ancienne » polyphonie et en faisant une utilisation très personnelle des éléments chromatiques, il a donné à la musique portugaise un héritage unique. Ses lamentations à huit voix comptent par ailleurs parmi les chefs-d’œuvre de la polyphonie européenne de la Semaine sainte.… Lisez plus