By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Dénes Várjon

Dénes Várjon, Izabella Simon & musicians of the BFO — Mahler. Chamber Music


  • 20.00 Kamermuziekzaal
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


  • 26,00
Add to wishlist Add to cart


Pocket-sized Mahler

In his Piano Quartet - the late-Romantic outpouring of a brooding adolescent - the young Gustav Mahler gives us a glimpse into his soul. Its anguished music already gives us a foretaste of his symphonies, in which dark tragedy is never far away. It’s not for nothing that Mahler’s Sixth Symphony was nicknamed 'the tragic'. He has a huge orchestra – including bells and cow bells – say a resounding no to fate. In the transcription for a smaller configuration, the bitterness of this music remains undiminished.

Program and performers


Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Piano _Quartet in A minor
Symfonie in D no. 1 ‘Titan’ (arr. for four-hand piano)


Musicians of the Budapest Festival Orchestra: string trio
Dénes Várjon & Izabella Simon: piano