By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Isabelle Faust (c) Detlev Schneider

  • Dausgaard (c) Per Morten Abrahamsen

Swedish Chamber Orchestra — Isabelle Faust plays Sibelius


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.10 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Yves Senden


  • 57,00
  • 42,00
  • 25,00
Add to wishlist Add to cart


Bruges’s favourite violinist plays the 20th century’s most famous violin concerto

In complete contrast to the cool climate of his Finnish homeland, the music of Jean Sibelius radiates a warm glow. In his wildly popular Violin Concerto he combines the typical northern atmosphere with the passion and the melancholy of the romantic. Brahms's Fourth Symphony is more sombre in tone. Despite a scathing review from famous critic Hanslick, the audience at its 1885 premiere were wildly enthusiastic. 

Program and performers


Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Violin Concerto in D minor, opus 47

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Symphony no. 4 in E minor, opus 98

Albert Schnelzer (1972)
A Freak in Burbank


Swedish Chamber Orchestra: orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard: conductor
Isabelle Faust: violin