By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • (c) Matt Hennek

Fauré Quartett — Rachmaninov, Schumann & Mussorgsky


  • 20.00 Kamermuziekzaal
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


  • 26,00
Add to wishlist Add to cart


Piano quartet brings new colour to Rachmaninov and Mussorgsky classics

Few other ensembles know to create as much excitement and anticipation for a concert as the famous Fauré Quartett. Again and again they unearth new repertoire and sound possibilities. For us, for instance, they are playing an arrangement of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, the ultimate showpiece for virtuoso pianists, which includes an overwhelming infernal stamping dance and ominous tone painting. The other Russian on the programme, Sergey Rachmaninov, was also inspired by some paintings for his Etudes-tableaux.

Program and performers


Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881)
Pictures at an Exhibition (arr. Fauré Quartett / Grigory Gruzman)

Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Selection from Etudes-tableaux, opus 33 & 39 (arr. for piano quartet)

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Piano Quartet in E-flat, opus 47


Fauré Quartett:
Dirk Mommertz: piano
Erika Geldsetzer: violin
Sascha Frömbling: viola
Konstantin Heidrich: cello