By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


Vox Luminis & L’Achéron — Stabat Mater


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.10 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Ignace Bossuyt


  • 46,00
  • 35,00
  • 23,00
Add to wishlist Add to cart


The deepest sorrow elicits the most beautiful music

With four meditations on death and parting, Vox Luminis and the instrumentalists of L'Acheron touch upon the heart of the Passion. From Jesus' last thoughts, to Mary's disconsolate words at the foot of the Cross, to Buxtehude's personal grief at the loss of his father. Kerll’s requiem also has personal intimacy: after a brilliant career in places such as Brussels, Munich and Vienna, he wrote it with his own death in mind and specifically asked for it to be performed at his own funeral.

Program and performers


Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672)
Die sieben Worte Jesu Christi am Kreuz

Johann Caspar Kerll (1627-1693)
Missa pro defunctis

Dieterich Buxtehude (ca.1637-1707)

Agostino Steffani (1654-1728)
Stabat Mater


Vox Luminis & L’Achéron: ensemble
Lionel Meunier & François Joubert-Caillet: artistic direction