By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • BOHO Strings

  • Daan Vandewalle

Metamorphoses — Ferrabosco, Strauss & Cage


  • 20.00 Concertgebouw
  • 22.25 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Pieter Bergé


  • 26,00
Add to wishlist Add to cart


Unexpected evolutions in three short concerts

A metamorphosis can be huge and conspicuous, or barely discernible, so you’d better stay alert during these three short concerts. Daan Vandewalle’s piano, for instance, mysteriously mutates into a one-man percussion ensemble. The strings continuously transform the sound of Strauss's intense Metamorphosen by moving slowly around the audience. And the Hathor Consort turn complex polyphony inward. Nothing is, everything becomes… and that is the only certainty.

Program and performers


John Cage (1912-1992)
In a Landscape
The Perilous Night

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Fantasias, In nomines, pavanes and gaillardes for viol consort by Alfonso Ferrabosco the younger and contemporaries


Daan Vandewalle: piano
BOHO Strings: string orchestra
David Ramael: conductor
Hathor Consort: ensemble