By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • (c) Alexandra Bertels

  • (c) Alexandra Bertels

Ensembl'Arenski — Shostakovich & Piazzolla


  • 20.00 Kamermuziekzaal
  • 21.35 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


The Four Seasons: Piazzolla’s version

When you think of the four seasons, Vivaldi's colourful Baroque evergreen immediately springs to mind. Equally ingenious, however, is Astor Piazzolla's evocation, in which jazz, tango and classical merge into an almost sensory trip through the seasons. That same inexhaustible imaginative power - with sparkling melodies and virtuoso dialogue - can also be heard in Shostakovich's Second Piano Trio. Although in this the tone is more mournful. The great Russian master wrote the work as a moving farewell to his recently dead best friend Ivan Sollertinsky.

Your ticket also gives you free admission to the lecture-performance on 18 January.

Program and performers


Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Piano Trio no. 2 in E minor, opus 67

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Frederik Neyrinck (1985)


Claire Dassesse: violin
Aurore Dassesse: cello
Stephanie Proot: piano