By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Martin Grubinger (c) Felix Broede

  • Martin Grubinger (c) Felix Broede

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (formerly deFilharmonie) & Martin Grubinger — Bernstein, Prokofiev, Eötvös & Tan Dun


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.25 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Francis Maes


Percussion wizard raises virtuosity to a new level

Before Austrian Martin Grubinger arrived on the scene, percussionists stood at the rear of the orchestra. Now composers such as Tan Dun and Peter Eötvös write works for them. Dun’s Tears of Nature seems to have been written for a multi-armed octopus. Eötvös also pushes the soloist to extremes. Both are right up the street of percussion acrobat Martin Grubinger. Rarely have we seen such staggering virtuosity.

Program and performers


Peter Eötvös (1944)
Speaking Drums

Tan Dun (1957)
Tears of Nature

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Selection from Romeo and Juliet, opus 64


Antwerp Symphony Orchestra: orchestra
Elim Chan: conductor
Martin Grubinger: percussion