By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


KASK & Royal Conservatory of Ghent — Erewhon. Symphony for percussion and visuals


  • 20.00 Concertzaal Scène
  • 21.35 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Klaas Coulembier


The iconic percussion work

In Brehon - Hugues Dufourt’s symphony for six percussionists and as many as 150 percussion instruments - the composer describes the birth and transformation of sound: waves, streams, shimmers, vibrations, turbulences... Saharan drums, Turkish cymbals and Thai gongs create an imaginary landscape à la Edgar Allan Poe. Six Royal Conservatory percussionists accept the challenge of bringing this marvellous tour de force back to life 51 years after its premiere. Media Arts students from KASK add visuals to this gem, via video projections.

Program and performers


Hugues Dufourt (1943)


Wim Konink: musical direction
Andrés Navarro García, Aya Suzuki, Wim Pelgrims, Koenraad Botteldoorn, Kaja Farszky, Elliot Harrison: percussion ensemble
Hangaar (Frederik Jassogne & Bart Moens): coaching video & scenography
Fons Artois, Lieselot Everaert, Fien Lauwers, Jill Borremans, Liene Straupe & Aron Machiels: video & scenography

coproduction: concertgebouw Brugge & KASK - School of Arts – HoGent