By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


Salagon Quartett — Schubert & Dvořák


  • 20.00 Kamermuziekzaal
  • 21.40 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Piet De Volder


Chamber music classics: old strings, new lustre

Schubert’s String Quintet is a masterpiece of 19th-century chamber music. He composed this emotional piece – which includes a second cello, to enhance its sonority in the low register – two months before his death. But it was only decades later, when listeners recognised the supernatural beauty of its musical lines, that the work got the appreciation it deserved. Fifty years later, Dvořák wrote his exceptionally rich String Sextet. Its compelling Slavic style won’t leave you unmoved.

Program and performers


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
String Quintet in C major, D956

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
String Sextet in A major, opus 48


Salagon Quartett:
Christine Busch: violin
Isabelle Farr: violin
Sebastian Wohlfarth: viola
Gesine Queyras: cello

Katya Polin: viola
Christoph Dangel: cello