By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


Mitten wir im Leben sind/Bach 6 Cello Suites — Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.15 Expected end time
  • Interview by Steven De Belder


Bach's famous Cello Suites laid bare by five dancers

This new creation by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, edits, questions and dances Bach’s famous Cello Suites. World-famous cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras plays them live for the three male and two female dancers, one of them De Keersmaeker herself. In this fascinating symbiosis of music and dance, both the essence of each suite and their mutual interplay in the whole are revealed.

Program and performers


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Six Cello Suites, BWV1007-1012


Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker: choreography
Jean-Guihen Queyras: cello
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Marie Goudot, Michaël Pomero,
Julien Monty & Boštjan Antončič: creation & dance
An D’Huys: costumes
Luc Schaltin: lighting design

coproduction: Rosas, La Monnaie / De Munt (Brussel / Bruxelles), Ruhrtriennale, Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie (Hamburg), Montpellier Danse 2018