By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Francesco Piemontesi (c) Benjamin Ealovega

  • Francesco Piemontesi (c) Benjamin Ealovega

  • (c) Jesse Willems

  • (c) Jesse Willems

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra (formerly deFilharmonie) & Philippe Herreweghe — Brahms & Schumann


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.05 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


Francesco Piemontesi in the wild emotions of the Romantic

The piano as a fiery fighter, battling against a temperamental orchestra: that’s the feel we get from Brahms’ First Piano Concerto. He composed it shortly after Robert Schumann - whom he greatly admired - had attempted to commit suicide by throwing himself into the icy Rhine. In his Second Symphony, Schumann is in far better spirits. It is a gem of orchestral colours, sharp rhythmic formulae and melancholic melodies that plumb the depths of the romantic soul.

Program and performers


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Piano Concerto no. 1 in D minor, opus 15

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Symphony no. 2 in C major, opus 61


Antwerp Symphony Orchestra: orchestra
Philippe Herreweghe: conductor
Francesco Piemontesi: piano