By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Maria João Pires (c) Felix Broede

Orkest van de Achttiende Eeuw — Maria João Pires & Ashot Khachatourian


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.15 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


Mozart & Beethoven. The masterly Maria João Pires introduces a new talent

Even in their own day, Mozart and Beethoven were kings of the classical concerto. Contemporaries were astonished by their music. Mozart’s Piano Concerto no. 20, with its dazzling cadenza, was greatly admired by the young Beethoven who always kept it in his repertoire. By the time he wrote his opus 58, Beethoven had given his own twist to the genre, with a new role for the pianist. This evening, Maria João Pires plays solo and leads, and introduces a new talent: Ashot Khachatourian.

Program and performers


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Symphony in D major ‘Haffner’, KV385
Piano Concerto no. 20 in D minor, KV466

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Concerto no. 4 in G major, opus 58


Orkest van de Achttiende Eeuw: orchestra
Maria João Pires: piano
Ashot Khachatourian: piano