By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Leonardo García Alarcón / (c) Jean Baptiste Millot

Cappella Mediterranea & Leonardo García Alarcón — Monteverdi’s Orfeo


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.45 Expected end time


Monteverdi’s iconic opera articulates Orpheus’ attempts to soothe the keepers of Hades with his voice and his lyre. He is allowed to release his beloved Eurydice from the realm of the dead, on the one condition that he does not turn around to look at her. Leonardo García Alarcón and his Cappella Mediterranea are the fitting performers for this story about life and death, longing and recollection.

Program and performers


Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)


Cappella Mediterranea & Choeur de Chambre de Namur: ensemble
Leonardo García Alarcón: direction
Valerio Contaldo: Orfeo
Mariana Flores: La Musica, Euridice
Giuseppina Bridelli: La Messagiera
Anna Reinhold: Proserpina, La Speranza, Ninfa
Konstantin Wolff: Plutone
Salvo Vitale: Caronte
Carlo Vistoli, Nicholas Scott, Alessandro Giangrande & Matteo Bellotto: shepherds

organisation: MAfestival Brugge
copresentation: Concertgebouw Brugge