By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Simon Gosselin

  • Kzysztof Warlikowskri

Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno — Le Concert d'Astrée & Krzysztof Warlikowski


  • 20.00 Opéra de Lille
  • 23.25 Expected end time
  • € 63 / 47 This concert cannot be included in a flexible season ticket. including bus trip (no discount) limited number of seats


Concertgebouw Brugge takes you to Opéra de Lille for Handel’s first oratorio

A glance in the mirror of Pleasure is enough to make Beauty forget her mortality. Time and Truth are always on hand, however, to give her some stern (and frequent!) advice: ‘Beauty is like a flower that blooms in a day and then dies.’ The battle between these four allegorical characters provides the words – penned by Cardinal Benedetto Pamphili – for Handel's first Roman oratorio. Virtuoso arias, brilliant sinfonias and powerful ensembles showcase a 22-year-old composer, who already seems to have discovered every musical secret. Plastic and theatrical, Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno inspired director Krzysztof Warlikowski to create a new stage setting. Concertgebouw Brugge takes you to the Opéra de Lille to hear four outstanding singers, led by Emmanuelle Haïm, who knows Handel’s flamboyant oeuvre like the back of her hand.

Facebook Le Concert d'Astrée - Emmanuelle Haïm

Program and performers


George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno


Le Concert d’Astrée: ensemble
Emmanuelle Haïm: artistic direction
Krzysztof Warlikowski: direction
Malgorzata Szczeniak: scenery & costumes
Christian Longchamp: dramaturgy
Felice Ross: lighting design
Claude Bardouil: choreography
Denis Guéguin: video

Ying Fang: soprano (Bellezza - Beauty)
Franco Fagioli: countertenor (Piacere - Pleasure)
Sarah Mingardo: contralto (Disinganno – Disillusion/Truth)
Michael Spyres: bass (Tempo - Time)