By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media

  • Artyom Makeyev

  • Bartek Sadowski

Russian National Orchestra — Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto


  • 20.00 Concertzaal
  • 22.15 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Jan Christiaens


Russian classics

Of all the ballet composers, the Russian Tchaikovsky is probably the most successful. His Swan Lake suite appeals to everyone’s imagination and must surely be the most famous works in classical ballet history. Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto is also part of the standard repertoire. As good a concert pianist as he was a composer, Rachmaninov actually wrote each of his five piano concertos for himself. His third was intended purely as a bravura piece for a US concert tour, but it survived the tour with ease and grew to become one of the most popular piano concertos. Russian conductor Mikhail Pletnev and his Russian National Orchestra are the ideal interpreters for these great Russian classics. In this concert, pianist Cho Seong-Jin - a winner of the International Chopin Piano Competition - proves that he is equally at home in the Russian repertoire.

Facebook Russian National Orchestra

Program and performers


Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Festive Overture in A, opus 96

Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Piano Concerto no. 3 in D, opus 30

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Swan Lake Suite (arr. Michail Pletnev)


Russian National Orchestra: orchestra
Mikhail Pletnev: conductor
Seong-Jin Cho: piano