By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


Pere Ubu — The Coed Jail Tour


  • 20.45 Kamermuziekzaal
  • 22.30 Expected end time


Pere Ubu, the band fronted by the misanthropic and notoriously cantankerous David Thomas – famed for his substantial girth and manic performances – are impossible to sum up in a few sentences. Since 1975 they have been icons of post-punk: heavily influenced by The Stooges, Captain Beefheart and The Velvet Underground, but above all by a brouhaha of elements drawn from musique concrete and the experimental avant-garde, and with the ever volatile Thomas screaming spastically and nasally through his surrealistic texts. It’s a dizzily contrary and unpredictable sound and thus all the more daringly unique and influential. Without Pere Ubu, there would have been no Gang of Four, Joy Division, Hüsker Dü, Oxbow or Pixies.
Besides sounding like the missing link between The Velvet Underground and punk, the band’s sound can best be described as a disorienting mix of avant-garage rock, found sound, analogue synths, psychedelic electronics, heavy bass, fractured song structures and howling vocals.

With David Thomas as their only constant, Pere Ubu have now been around for 40 years. To celebrate that milestone, Fire Records are releasing five extremely fine LP boxsets. The first, ‘Elitism for the People 1975-1978’ includes their first two albums ‘The Modern Dance’ and ‘Dub Housing’, along with ‘The Hearpen Singles (1975-1977)’ and the live album ‘Manhattan’. The second, ‘Architecture of Language 1979-1982’, brings together the albums ‘New Picnic Time’, ‘The Art of Walking’ and ‘Song of the Bailing Man’.
For The Coed Jail Tour, Thomas has compiled an exclusive set list of the darker, abstract material in these two boxsets. To ensure an overwhelming result, Pere Ubu work their way through this set without pausing between numbers. The line-up consists of Tom Herman (guitarist from 1975 to 1979 and from 1997 to 2002) David Thomas, Robert Wheeler, Michele Temple and Steve Mehlman.

If you really want to understand what Pere Ubu are all about, then be sure to read this 30-page essay, written by David Thomas himself.

Humo about debut album The Modern Dance: 'One of the twenty best records you’ve never heard.'


  • Prévente (online, In&Uit Brugge, Ticketlijn): € 15 (excl. € 1 frais de réservation)  
  • Le samedi 09.04.2016 (Billetterie Concertgebouw): € 18

All-in ticket pour tous les concerts de 09.04.2016:

  • Prévente  (online, In&Uit Brugge, Ticketlijn): € 30 (excl. € 1 frais de réservation)  
  • Le samedi 09.04.2016 (Billetterie Concertgebouw): € 35