By continuing your visit to this website you are accepting the use of cookies that offer customised content and services, and a more enjoyable navigation. OK / Learn more

Concertgebouw Brugge

  • Nederlands NL
  • Français FR
  • English EN

Social media


Federico García Lorca — Poetic concert trail


  • 20.00 Concertgebouw
  • 23.15 Expected end time
  • 19.15 Introduction by Anna López Pujal


In search of ‘duende’ - the darker soul of flamenco

‘It was pain itself, singing behind a smile,’ wrote Federico García Lorca, outwardly happy, inwardly torn. He didn’t write to please, but to rip open the heart and then restore it, perfected. He left us vivid descriptions of the authentic Spain, where life seems to be an instinctive battle between impossible love and the omnipresence of death. It’s as if Lorca dips his pen in the great inkwell of Andalusian gypsy and flamenco culture and then adds frivolous fantasies to accentuate. During the Lorca concert trail, we go in search of ‘duende’ - the darker soul of flamenco, the chill of the tearful smile - in the music inspired by Lorca’s writing. If it’s not in the androgynous and spellbinding voice of Gregory Frateur, or in Petra Vermote’s compelling Eco del Reloj, then it’s sure to be found in the blood and ash drenched voice of Amparo Cortés, or in the klezmer adaptations of Spanish and Sephardic songs.

Program and performers


Petra Vermote (1968)
Eco del Reloj - Chamber Symphony (world premiere)

Federico García Lorca (1898-1936)
Selection from his poetry
Selection from Canciones Españolas Antiguas

Arne Deforce (1962)

George Crumb (1929)
Madrigals III (1971)

[fedeˈɾiko ɣarˈθi.a ˈlorka] (world premiere, commissioned by Concertgebouw Brugge)


Vlaams Sinfonietta: ensemble
David Ramael: conductor
Elise Caluwaerts: coloratura soprano
Klaas Verpoest: visuals

mg AVONDLAND (principal members of Dez Mona):
Gregory Frateur: song
Nicolas Rombout: double bass
Roel van Camp: accordion
Koen Quintyn : arrangement

Port Klezmer:
Jaan Bossier: clarinet
Anna Puig-Torné: viola
An Raskin: accordion
Axel Ruge: double bass
Amparo Cortés: flamenco singer

Marijke Pinoy: actress
Arne Deforce: cello